2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

Right handed golfers should be using a reverse overlap grip for full swing.

Reverse Overlap for the last twenty five years

May 26 2015, 6:10 PM

I have been using the reverse overlap grip for over twenty five years and could not go back to any of the grips I had before.

I started playing about 50 years ago and as a kid I used the 10 finger grip. At the age of 13, with an 8 handicap, I decided to take the game more seriously and visited our club professional. He took a look at my set up and insisted on me changing my grip as, in his words, I was never going to become a better golfer with the 10 finger grip. So, I changed to the interlock grip and stuck with it for over 10 years. I never felt completely comfortable with it but persevered because I believed the club pro must be right. My handicap improved to a 4 during this period but it was a slow process and I had days where my grip felt comfortable and I scored well but many other days where it felt lousy and I scored badly.

I changed pros at this stage, and discussed the possibility of finding a grip that felt consistently comfortable. He changed me to the Vardon, overlapping grip and made references to the fact that the vast majority of tour pros were using this grip so it must be the best. 10 years later and with a handicap of 5, I was beginning to doubt every part of my game. There were days when this grip felt terrific but these were few and far between and for me it was back to the drawing board. I dropped these two grips which, I had stuck by for about 10 years each, and decided to return to my childhood preference and adopted the 10 finger grip again. My ball striking improved immediately but somehow my hands weren't working together like they seemed to do with the other two grips.

That's when I adopted the reverse overlap and immediately began improving.