GPS Golf Guru - Any thoughts on this?

1151618202130

Comments

  • My mistake. Beta testers are up to 1.18 (not 1.17). Anyway, I just tried to sync and there is no upgrade yet available. I'll phone Guru tomorrow.
  • Just called Guru... the new software version is not available yet and no future date was given.
  • I'm back to version 1.14 so I may map greens again. Arghhh...
  • lohrm1lohrm1 Charter Members Posts: 402
    Anyone having problems getting their scores loaded to the US Handicap site? I've tried everything, but they just won't load. The Guru support people are working on it, but I was curious if others have had this problem.
  • GozzGozz Members Posts: 1,018
    edited Aug 13, 2008 #516
    Anybody else notice that these are on ebay with no reserve on them?
  • rthodgesrthodges Members Posts: 35
    The units on ebay are sold by the company who makes them. They just put a couple of units on ebay at a time.
  • GozzGozz Members Posts: 1,018
    Yes, I know that Golf Guru put them on ebay, that is where I bought mine. This is first time I have seen them on there without a reserve of $210. Makes me wonder how sales are going & if the company is hurting for money?
  • draverdraver Members Posts: 63
    I won an auction for one on Monday. They shipped it that day, and it should arrive this Friday by UPS ground.



    When I spoke to them for payment and shipping details I was told that the Ebay auctions were considered a form of advertising for them.



    I currently have a Sky Caddie SG-5, which I am pleased with, and recently gave the Upro a try, but returned it after a few sessions. I didn't like the display outdoors, and a fully charged battery only lasted 9 holes among other things. That little trial cost me a restocking fee, and the loss of my course subsciption, total = $120.00. So, those of you who are pissed you didn't get your shipping costs back, I have little sympathy.



    I'll try and give a side by side comparison of the SG-5 and the Guru as soon as it arrives and I can get some course time in on it. I also have requested 2 local courses to be mapped that are not currently on the list.



    For the record, I am a gadget junkie, and will also probably buy the next "Latest & Greatest" golf GPS also.
  • v10kingv10king Members Posts: 122 ✭✭
    draver wrote on Aug 14 2008, 06:27 AM:
    I won an auction for one on Monday. They shipped it that day, and it should arrive this Friday by UPS ground.



    When I spoke to them for payment and shipping details I was told that the Ebay auctions were considered a form of advertising for them.



    I currently have a Sky Caddie SG-5, which I am pleased with, and recently gave the Upro a try, but returned it after a few sessions. I didn't like the display outdoors, and a fully charged battery only lasted 9 holes among other things. That little trial cost me a restocking fee, and the loss of my course subsciption, total = $120.00. So, those of you who are pissed you didn't get your shipping costs back, I have little sympathy.



    I'll try and give a side by side comparison of the SG-5 and the Guru as soon as it arrives and I can get some course time in on it. I also have requested 2 local courses to be mapped that are not currently on the list.



    For the record, I am a gadget junkie, and will also probably buy the next "Latest & Greatest" golf GPS also.




    Thats funny that your UPRO ran out of battery after 9 holes, something must of been wrong with it. I just picked one up and played a 5.5 hour 18 hole round with the UPRO and still had 40% battery left after? Dont see how you can get better than the UPRO.
  • draverdraver Members Posts: 63
    Regarding the Upro display, I had the brightness on high, and was trying to keep the display visible so I could compare it to the SG-5 during my round.



    I took the Guru out today to run side by side with the SG-5, and got in a very long 9 holes. I was a single behind a 4some at the end of some little tournament, and I replayed at least 4-5 holes, and was playing 2 balls, so I did about 27 holes total.



    Sometimes the measurements were exactly the same, sometimes there was about 5-6 yards difference between the two units. I'll need to try a few more courses to render some sort of opinion. I do like the display on the SG-5 under all conditions better than the Guru, but that's to be expected due to the backlight and color screen.
  • New 2.01 Utility & ver 18 are now up.
  • I still can't seem to modify (add) a new green with the "new" version 1.18. Is anyone else having this problem?
  • draverdraver Members Posts: 63
    edited Aug 16, 2008 #524
    I tried to update my software using the current utility, but it states my version (1.14) is current. What's the procedure to load the updates?



    Never mind, I found it under "Download Utility".
    Post edited by Unknown User on
  • puckcoach3puckcoach3 Members Posts: 60
    edited Aug 16, 2008 #525
    draver wrote on Aug 16 2008, 09:35 AM:
    I tried to update my software using the current utility, but it states my version (1.14) is current. What's the procedure to load the updates?



    Never mind, I found it under "Download Utility".






    Just to be clear, it's not as easy as firing up your current version and having the Utility automatically update. There are a number of steps to the process:
    1. Go to Guru website to download the latest version of the utility.
      1. You need to go to www.gpsgolfguru.com, Support, Update & then Download Guru Utility
      2. Save the utility somewhere on your computer that you can find later

    2. Uninstall the current utility by Going to your Start/Programs/Golf Guru/Uninstall Utility
    3. Reinstall the new utility by going to Windows Explorer and finding the file that you previously downloaded and clicking on it to install.
    4. Run the new utility from your desktop (click on Guru Utility Icon)
    5. Connect your Guru to your computer and update to the latest firmware (1.18 in this case)
    6. Reset your Guru (press any key after firmware is updated)
    7. Allow your Guru to Sync up with all of your Courses, etc
    That's it !! You're ready to play now !
  • puckcoach3puckcoach3 Members Posts: 60
    draver wrote on Aug 15 2008, 08:49 PM:
    Regarding the Upro display, I had the brightness on high, and was trying to keep the display visible so I could compare it to the SG-5 during my round.



    I took the Guru out today to run side by side with the SG-5, and got in a very long 9 holes. I was a single behind a 4some at the end of some little tournament, and I replayed at least 4-5 holes, and was playing 2 balls, so I did about 27 holes total.



    Sometimes the measurements were exactly the same, sometimes there was about 5-6 yards difference between the two units. I'll need to try a few more courses to render some sort of opinion. I do like the display on the SG-5 under all conditions better than the Guru, but that's to be expected due to the backlight and color screen.






    I paid $220 for my Guru including S&H. No course fees either. Gets the job done in a nice small package. Why would you compare it with a unit that cost $430 and $50/year ?? That's like comparing a Lexus to a Civic. If you can afford the Lexus and enjoy the features, buy it. If you just want a basic car, buy the Civic. Both will get you where you want to go. image/ok.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':jester:' />
  • GoToTheJoeGoToTheJoe Members Posts: 59
    Thanks for the step by step, puckcoach.



    Does anybody have the list of new features or fixes contained in the 1.18 upgrade? I didn't see anything on that during the update. Thanks
  • draverdraver Members Posts: 63
    puckcoach3,



    quote:



    "I paid $220 for my Guru including S&H. No course fees either. Gets the job done in a nice small package. Why would you compare it with a unit that cost $430 and $50/year ?? That's like comparing a Lexus to a Civic. If you can afford the Lexus and enjoy the features, buy it. If you just want a basic car, buy the Civic. Both will get you where you want to go."



    I am more concerned with accuracy and features than with price. As an owner of one of the better known golf GPS products, it seemed reasonable to me to offer my observation of a discrepancy in distances between the units.



    In a previous post I stated that I have a Leica CRF 1200 rangefinder, and that it's published specs are +/- 1 yard up to 400 yards. I have tested it against my SG-5 and they are consistently no more than a yard or rarely 2 yards different on the 6-8 courses I've used it on. Due to this comparison, I believe the SG-5 to have approximately the same accuracy as the Leica for the distances involved. I have only tried the Guru on one course, and only on 9 holes at that time.



    My post may have been premature, but I do not recall anyone doing a distance comparison with the Guru, so I thought it may have been food for thought.
  • Can anyone with version 1.18 verify that they can add a new green to an existing course?
  • MikeDillMikeDill Members Posts: 9
    Once we update to the new version do we have to download the courses again, and will we loose any targets or greens that have been modified for downloaded courses? Also did they give us the ability of scoring for more than 1 player? I'm a little leary of updateing untill we know what the benifits of updateing are.
  • draverdraver Members Posts: 63
    I downloaded the 1.18 version and it still only tracks one players' score.
  • puckcoach3puckcoach3 Members Posts: 60
    MikeDill wrote on Aug 17 2008, 11:19 AM:
    Once we update to the new version do we have to download the courses again, and will we loose any targets or greens that have been modified for downloaded courses? Also did they give us the ability of scoring for more than 1 player? I'm a little leary of updateing untill we know what the benifits of updateing are.




    It will automatically download the same courses you had before the update but I don't know about modifications that you may have done. The Utility has a different look to it -- a little more windows looking than like an old DOS window. Functionally, it seemed the same to me. I'm not sure what is different about 1.18 vs. 1.14. Maybe one of the beta guys can shed some light.
  • go-rebels wrote on Aug 17 2008, 11:43 AM:
    Can anyone with version 1.18 verify that they can add a new green to an existing course?




    Still looking for a response to my question above. I'm concerned that my currently loaded 1.18 is still the old BETA version and not the released 1.18.



    I know that when I made some modifications to an existing course using BETA 1.18, I lost the new features going back to 1.14 when I tried to map a green. I don't know if changes made using 1.14 are lost going to 1.18.
  • rlighterrlighter Members Posts: 3
    the 1.18 version, still has bugs regarding maping a downloaded course,

    I maped all 18 holes and maybee only 6 of the greens were ok when i played the couse.



    A lot of the greesn came up with 999 to center of green.



    Amanda at Golfguru said the devlopers were still trying to fix the problem.
  • rlighter wrote on Aug 17 2008, 08:47 PM:
    A lot of the greesn came up with 999 to center of green.




    Yes, I have that problem too. I don't know what the problems were with 1.14, but, for me, 1.14 allows me to modify greens and add targets, which 1.18 will not allow me to do (modify greens).



    1.18 should not have been released until it was functionally as good as 1.14.
  • I just got my guru on Monday so I decided to go out and have some fun today...went to a big field near work and created a fake course...made one of the baseball diamonds a green. Then I walked out about 150 yards or so and measured some shots basically creating a golf course.



    Pretty sweet to be able to measure my shots without trying to pace stuff off. I can't wait to get this thing out on the course.
  • What version software does the unit have, 1.14 or 1.18?
  • I took my guru out for the first time today and even though I played like absolute dog poo I love this thing. I do have one question...I saved my score and loved the stats feature but dumbly when I got home said 'upload score' even though I had not yet signed up with isaacgolf.com



    now I can't find the stats or that scorecard in the golf guru...is that card gone?



    I'll call support tomorrow if nobody knows but thanks in advance...
  • If you shut off afterwards than you are screwed. It doesn't save the info once shutting down.
  • riesman20 wrote on Aug 25 2008, 08:38 AM:
    If you shut off afterwards than you are screwed. It doesn't save the info once shutting down.






    Oh that sucks. So when I clicked on "upload score" but not signed up for isaacgolf it wasn't going anywhere?
Sign In or Register to comment.