How many majors would Tiger have won...

tcarrow

I'm fairly new to following golf. I've watched it sporadically for 25 years, but I can probably only name a handful of players from the 90s. Then Tiger came along and set the golf world on fire. He made it fun to watch for the modest fan, and forced aspiring golfers to step up their games. Fast forward to today... Perhaps it's because I watch a lot more golf, or perhaps it's because of the various media outlets, but I feel like there are a lot more superstars in the field. So, is the competition more stiff? Are there a greater number of better players in the field today (thanks to Tiger) than there were decades ago? If so, would Tiger have won as many majors against today's field? Will anyone sniff double digits in major championships in the foreseeable future?

• Replies 171
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

If Tiger would have stuck with the Butch Harmon swing he had at the 2000 US Open at Pebble he would have won 25 majors.

I agree with this. He won 14 from 97-08, he easily could have reached 20 if you take away the injuries and multiple swing changes. Oh well, it is what it is.

Driver, 3W, 4W - Macgregor Custom Tourney
2-10 - 1954 Spalding Synchro Dyned
SW - Wilson Staff
Putter - Bullseye
Ball - Pro Plus

YT Channel - [url="https://www.youtube.com/PlayVintageGolf"]https://www.youtube....PlayVintageGolf[/url]

Yes, the competition is stiffer today, but they'd be competing for 2nd place. Tiger would've won 25 majors had he stayed healthy.

As for today's guys and double-digit majors, there was a time I thought Rory McIlroy had what it takes to make it to 10, but I'm now beginning to have my doubts. Rory doesn't have the drive and determination; he has grown soft.

I can't see Jason Day or Jordan Spieth winning 10 majors either, although Jordan may end up doing it. He's in it for the long haul.