Golfing alone

stikillller

Anyone else have to or prefer to golf alone because friends can’t play with you? I’m a bit older now, mid 30’s, and a lot of my friends have kids and work and we aren’t ever able to get together to play. Well a few months back I ran into an old friend from years ago and it turns out he plays a lot. I started playing with him and he is very good.....but he has no personality and drives the cart like a mad man and I just plain don’t enjoy spending my day with the guy. I’ve been playing with him because I really have no one else to play with, but after today I’m done and I’m going to try playing alone....hopefully i get paired with randoms that are somewhat cool.

What’s everyone’s thoughts on playin alone and do some prefer it?

• Like 2

Since getting out of the Bar tending game last year and hence can no longer play during the day with my industry buddies mid week , I've played by myself (or paired with randoms) more this year than any other.

While sometimes it's great to go out and have a day, I've definitely taken to really enjoying walking twilight rounds by myself. Although you do run a higher risk of holing out when no one is around......

Restaurant work definitely offers the best schedule for the non independently wealthy golf enthusiast

I play by myself most of the time. I am able to play midweek and there is often no one else to play with. I don't mind playing by myself. I can use the time to hit a couple (or a lot) of extra practice shots if I want, too.

However, I've noticed that I play much better when I am playing with others. When I am by myself I tinker with things and end up overthinking a lot of shots and situations. I have scored my best when I have been playing with others, people that I know and am comfortable with. When I'm hanging with them I don't really overthink my golf stuff.

jus chillin