Golfing alone

Comments

• MoonlightgrmMoonlightgrm Members Posts: 920 ✭✭✭✭✭

I have a regular foursome on the weekends. I am recently retired and play alone during the week. My weekend buddies are younger than I and still work for a living. Sometimes I’ll catch up with another player or two and join them. But the times that I play alone are very relaxing and enjoyable. I’ve played 70-rounds this year and I’d estimate 30-rounds have been solo.

• travtrav Members Posts: 296 ✭✭✭✭

I may be one of the few, but I absolutely cannot play alone. I get very bored.

• Ngjg21Ngjg21 Members Posts: 861 ✭✭✭✭✭

I almost exclusively play alone or with randoms. I don’t mind it but it’s less personal preference and more to do with life situation (young kid+desire to keep wife happy=545 AM tee times). Not complaining...just thankful I’m still able to get out.

• bbfifasbbfifas Members Posts: 501 ✭✭✭✭✭

Playing junior golf and practicing you get used to playing alone or in your own zone. Growing up working on golf courses you could sneak out before or after your shift and usually play alone or on a rare occasion meet up with a member. I enjoyed playing alone I could knock out 9 or 18 very quickly and work on some specific shots.

I still enjoy playing with my buddies and do enjoy the drinks and the laughs. But for me playing alone helps me decompress, gets my relaxed, and I always feel a strong connection to the golf course and golf in general and it reminds me of my late father who taught me to play golf at a young age and it was something we enjoyed together, its kind of an emotional connection and reminds me of him every time I step on the course.

Mizuno St190, 8.5*, Tensei White 70X shaft
    Cobra FLY Z+ 3 wood, orange, aldila tour blue stiff, 14.5*
    Taylormade V-Steel 5 wood, stock stiff
    Cobra F7 Hybrid 20* stiff Fuji Pro 75
    Cobra Forged Tec 5-PW, KBS C-taper lite stiff
    Cleveland CBX 50*, 115g DG
    place holder - currently 56* ATV wedge
    Vokey 58M