How many of you are trying single plane swings?

grantc79

Ive been playing single length irons for a couple years now and I'm starting to take it to the next level and go single plane as well.

Curious how many of you have tried out the single plane swing? Kuchar flat or Dechaumbeau steep or otherwise.

FWIW I'm going with the steep single plane like Dechambeau I'm 6'4 and play my 7 iron are 68 lie angle so like 6 degrees or more up.

Just curious if anyone else is trying it and how much success they are having. So far the steeper I go the more distance I lose but the straighter I hit it.

WITB: 

Aerojet 10.5 Ventus 7S

Cobra Tec 17, 21, 24 hybrids

New Level 623 CB 5-PW

Mizuno S23 52, 56, 60

I unknowingly switched to a more single plane swing. I have always struggled with a big slice/fade and unknowingly corrected it by switching to a single plane. For me at least, single plane promotes a more in-to-out path and gives me better consistency.

I had a lesson recently and the instructor reset me to having the more conventional two plane and boom, slice/fade came howling back. Took me a little while to figure out why and I believe this is the culprit. For now i'm going against the swing doctors orders and sticking with the one-plane, although he did fix some legwork stuff that i'm sticking with.

I'm doing the Hardy swing, which is like the Kuchar one. My cousin switched to it a while back and he had good results, but i was hesitant because i liked hitting big draws with my two plane swing. At the end he convinced me and I like the results, but took me a while to get the two plane stuff out of my system, and I went back and forth for months, i'd practice one plane and then i'd play two, It didn't start to click until I bought the 4 disc DVD set from Hardy's website, which revealed that I just had elements of the one plane, but not the whole thing. Then I went to see Hardy in person and that helped exponentially.