2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

PLAYING GOLF AFTER HEART SURGERY

tmharv

For all you who have been there, how long did it take to get back? Going to have surgery on 01/08, a double by-pass and a aortic valve replacement. What can I expect in recovery time? Doctor says I can chip and putt after a few weeks but nothing more than that for a few months. Would like to hear about your experiences and how soon you came back

Six weeks of physical therapy, two weeks of chipping and putting, a week of pitching, then full swing. When I started playing again, I played the forward tees for a couple of weeks.

I remember teeing the ball up for the first time: I was so grateful I was looking down on the grass, and not up at it. I play a lot of golf, and every time I tee it up on the first hole I say a quiet prayer of gratitude.

Best of luck to you!!

I would play it by ear, and the doctors suggestions. I have had OHS to install an aortic mechanical valve, 30 yrs ago! My biggest concern is the blood thinners I take, and potential bleeding. I have traveled extensively around the world, including two African safaris, swimming with whales in the Azores, play softball, bowl, golf, etc. The time it takes to get back and play golf is probably determined most by how quick the sternum heals. Give it the time the doctor says to heal and everything will be just fine.

>Mavrik Max 12.5* 

>Mavrik 16.5* 4w

>Mavrik Max 4, 5, 6, 7 hybrids

>7--SW Dynacraft Prophet Muscle Blade Irons

>MD5 Jaws 58* W grind LW

>Odyssey Stroke Lab Double Wide Putter