Surlyn showdown: Titleist NXT vs Tour Soft vs DT Trusoft review

bogeypro

On heels of my Tour Soft vs Chrome Soft review: http://www.golfwrx.c...me-soft-review/

I’ve decided to do a Surlyn Showdown with Titleist’s outgoing NXT, the NXT replacement (Tour Soft), and the recently updated DT Trusoft. My shop only had the NXT Tour – no tour S. The two NXT balls use the same old Surlyn cover, but the Tour is a 3 piece ball where the Tour S is a 2 piece ball. The True Soft and DT Trusoft use some new type of Surlyn cover, both 2 piece balls. The DT Trusoft sells in the $22 range, while the Tour Soft sells in the $35 range.

Same as last test:

A little about me:

I’m a +1.5 handicap that relies on driving and short game. I get to play almost every day. My driver swing speed is 107 to 109 with about 275 carry. I hit my 8 iron 155. I’ve been playing the Callaway Chrome soft exclusively for over 2 years. Before that I played the regular Titleist ProV1. I prefer a little softer ball that is in the $35 price range, which I why I was playing chrome soft.

How I tested:

I did not use a launch monitor. I did all testing at my course with dormant bermuda fairways and greens. I took a brand-new sleeve of all 3 balls. I hit every short with the balls in the same order: Tour Soft, DT TruSoft, then NXT. I hit short, medium, and long pitches (medium trajectory shots). I hit flop shots as well. Then, I went to about 50 yards out and hit to center of the green. Then, I went to full wedge shots from 100 yards. I then hit 6 irons from 175. Finally, I hit drivers on course.

Clubs used:

Vokey SM6 56* raw black with 10* bounce in S grind. Rest of the equipment is in my sig. For driver, I also used Callaway XR 16 Pro 9* with HZRDUS T800 65g.

Results:

NXT Tour: