Advice on how to get referred?

gce8

Hello,

I am a young professional (32) new to the area and looking to join one of the clubs near the city (Charles River, Brae Burn, TCC, Weston.) I've tried calling the membership offices of the clubs, but keep being told that I need to know members in order to be considered

Does anyone have any advice on how to meet members at these clubs? Any suggestions on how to break in?

Thank you in advance for your help!

In your situation, it's just going to be tough. Those four clubs, combined, probably have <100 members in your age bracket. Depending on your industry, your best bet is that an older colleague / partner is a member, or people in your neighborhood (if you live in close proximity to one of them).

But even then, the admissions process is not trivial - it's not a world where you just need a dude to "introduce" you and then you're good. You need to know a few members who would be enthusiastic about you joining.

Try picking up platform tennis. I play at a public spot, but we play Dedham, TCC, Weston, Wellesley etc. I can call a handful of members at any club now. Look for Gilfoy/Truck Stop if you've ever played tennis you should give it a whirl.

That's actually a really good suggestion...Brookline Paddle also has a lot of overlap with the clubs in question.

I'm the head of our recruitment committee at Truck Stop, if anyone wants more info our club is looking for players and has no wait list- we'd just need to do a quick skill audit to make sure you can play on our A or B team, we do not have a C team. Dues run $600 for the year inclusive of the league. Everyone buys beer twice and food once during the season, so add another $150 to that and thats your all in cost. Full access to courts and our hut. A bunch of us golf too, just arent members at those places. I used to play to a 4, now im shooting in the mid 80s with kids etc.