2019 - can I practise swing in a bunker taking sand?

dg_1983dg_1983 Members Posts: 1,283 ✭✭
I noted players aren’t penalised for grounding club away from the ball.
2014 Low 2.9
2015 Low 2.6
2016 Low 2.1
2017 Target 1.4
2018 Target 0.4
2019 Target +15
Current 0.2

Comments

  • SawgrassSawgrass Members Posts: 14,862 ✭✭
    dg_1983 wrote:


    I noted players aren't penalised for grounding club away from the ball.
    Nevertheless, you may not take a practice swing and test the sand.
  • dg_1983dg_1983 Members Posts: 1,283 ✭✭
    Why not?
    2014 Low 2.9
    2015 Low 2.6
    2016 Low 2.1
    2017 Target 1.4
    2018 Target 0.4
    2019 Target +15
    Current 0.2
  • SawgrassSawgrass Members Posts: 14,862 ✭✭
    dg_1983 wrote:


    Why not?
    Because of Rule 12.2b
  • rogolfrogolf Members Posts: 3,651 ✭✭
    Because that's what the Rules about bunkers say. You could, but it would be a two stroke penalty.
  • SawgrassSawgrass Members Posts: 14,862 ✭✭
    rogolf wrote:


    You could, but it would be a two stroke penalty.




    Good point!
  • dg_1983dg_1983 Members Posts: 1,283 ✭✭
    At what point does grounding my club become testing the sand?
    2014 Low 2.9
    2015 Low 2.6
    2016 Low 2.1
    2017 Target 1.4
    2018 Target 0.4
    2019 Target +15
    Current 0.2
  • SawgrassSawgrass Members Posts: 14,862 ✭✭
    dg_1983 wrote:


    At what point does grounding my club become testing the sand?
    If you take a practice swing, it doesn't matter if you are doing it to test the sand or not, the swing is prohibited.



    If you're simply grounding your club away from the ball, the "point" where doing so becomes illegal is the point where you are intending to test the sand.



    But I have a feeling you're not going to accept that . . .
  • davep043davep043 Members Posts: 3,014 ✭✭
    Sawgrass wrote:

    dg_1983 wrote:


    I noted players aren't penalised for grounding club away from the ball.
    Nevertheless, you may not take a practice swing and test the sand.

    dg_1983 wrote:


    At what point does grounding my club become testing the sand?




    The new rule specifically says you may not touch the sand in making a practice swing. Testing or not doesn't come into it, you just can't touch the sand when making a practice swing without being penalized. Please read the entire rule, 12.2.b.
  • dg_1983dg_1983 Members Posts: 1,283 ✭✭
    thanks for clarifying, I had just seen a snippet that “generally touching the sand comes with no penalty”



    Sawgrass - you would be wrong about that feeling.



    2014 Low 2.9
    2015 Low 2.6
    2016 Low 2.1
    2017 Target 1.4
    2018 Target 0.4
    2019 Target +15
    Current 0.2
  • SawgrassSawgrass Members Posts: 14,862 ✭✭
    dg_1983 wrote:


    thanks for clarifying, I had just seen a snippet that “generally touching the sand comes with no penalty”



    Sawgrass - you would be wrong about that feeling.
    Well then, sorry. And good!



    (I had presumed you read the Rule I referenced and nevertheless were still seeking this freedom.)
  • dg_1983dg_1983 Members Posts: 1,283 ✭✭
    Thank you gentlemen.



    For the most part seems like an improvement in the sand!
    2014 Low 2.9
    2015 Low 2.6
    2016 Low 2.1
    2017 Target 1.4
    2018 Target 0.4
    2019 Target +15
    Current 0.2
  • KaysquareKaysquare Puppyluv Members Posts: 2,167 ✭✭
    Really?? You claim to have a 0.2 handicap & you're from Scotland....you know the answer & why.
  • dg_1983dg_1983 Members Posts: 1,283 ✭✭
    Kaysquare wrote:


    Really?? You claim to have a 0.2 handicap & you're from Scotland....you know the answer & why.




    Hey - I think I've been misinterpreted here. You are correct that I carry a scratch handicap and play my golf in Scotland. One of the major differences that I can see from golf in the UK and the US is that the UK play way more competitions, like multiple a week. We have never been able to compete or qualify for handicap returns marking our own cards. We have to mark and attest to our playing partners scores. Part of that marking and attesting is to make sure the scores are accurate and in line with the rules. In order to do so I need to understand the rules reasonably well. As you can imagine "as a scratch golfer from Scotland" I often get asked about rules or relief processes out on the course from new players or higher handicappers that might not take the game as seriously looking for advice.



    I'm not a rule 12.3.a.c appendix f kinda guy. I've just read the headlines about the rules. I'm just trying to clarify because i'm sure you will know - the average joe struggles with the rules and often need correction.



    From the headlines I was wondering the details behind;



    "no penalty for generally grounding the club in a bunker, not in front or behind the ball"



    is being able to "ground ones club in a hazard" also allowed? A bunker is a hazard right?
    2014 Low 2.9
    2015 Low 2.6
    2016 Low 2.1
    2017 Target 1.4
    2018 Target 0.4
    2019 Target +15
    Current 0.2
  • Colin LColin L Members Posts: 1,973 ✭✭
    edited Sep 17, 2018 #15
    dg_1983 wrote:
    .

    I'm not a rule 12.3.a.c appendix f kinda guy. I've just read the headlines about the rules. I'm just trying to clarify because i'm sure you will know - the average joe struggles with the rules and often need correction.



    From the headlines I was wondering the details behind;



    "no penalty for generally grounding the club in a bunker, not in front or behind the ball"



    is being able to "ground ones club in a hazard" also allowed? A bunker is a hazard right?




    I reckon that the changes to the rules are so substantial that you'll need to go a bit futher than the headlines and get stuck into reading through the rule book!



    The term "hazard" has disappeared. There are sections on specific rules for bunkers, penalty areas (a new term), putting greens and teeing areas. So, sticking to the word "bunker", it's Rule 12 you should take a look at.



    Briefly, you will be permitted to touch the sand anywhere in a bunker except in front of or behind your ball. You may, however, touch it in that area in the process of lifting, marking or removing loose impediments or movable obstructions;

    You may not touch the sand with your club when making a practice stroke or your backswing for a stroke.

    You may not touch the sand for the purpose of testing it.



    There is much more detail, but that's the gist of it.
Sign In or Register to comment.