Does a goofy golf hole in one still count as a hole in one?

pdhoffpdhoff ClubWRX Posts: 83 ✭✭
Every golfers worst nightmare. You make your first hole in one and there is something quirky about it that makes you question whether it's real. For most people this probably happens when they make an ace playing alone. For me, it happened in a goofy winter tournament setup......



The annual Turkey Shoot.....a no pressure, mostly drinking event, where the pros get to have some fun in setting up the layout. What this entails is setting up most of the course to play backwards (example, play from 13 tee back to 12 green, or play a par 5 spread across multiple holes). So we get to what is our 16th hole of the day.....makeshift teebox setup behind the 9th green, hitting over a pond to the 18th green....157 yards. I knew I hit a good shot right at the flag but thought it might have been a little long (couldn't see the hole from the tee).....my playing partners looked around and sure enough my ball was in the hole........let the screaming and bourbon shots ensue.



Now i'm faced with the tough question. Was this a real hole in one??? My playing partners definitely say yes, I'm inclined to say yes, but there were a few rumblings in the clubhouse about it not being legit.
Driver: Callaway Rogue Sub Zero 9* (set to 8*), Tensei Pro Orange 70TX
3W: Tour Edge Exotics CBX 15*, Diamana Whiteboard 80X
2 iron: Taylormade P-790, Steelfiber i95 X
4-5: Mizuno MP-18 MMC, DG X7
6-P: Mizuno MP-18 MB, DG X7
Vokey SM6: 50, 56, 62 DG X7
Putter: custom Bettinardi Queen Bee #9
Ball: Titleist AVX
«13

Comments

  • BrianMcGBrianMcG Members Posts: 2,217 ✭✭
    It makes a great story regardless.
    Walter: Tell me Bobby, why do you play this game?
    Bobby: I play because I love it.
    Walter: Well I play for the money. I have to win. That is why every time we face each other I will always beat you.
  • b.heltsb.helts Members Posts: 2,824 ✭✭
    Of course it is a hole in one. Congrats!!
  • rcb1586rcb1586 Members Posts: 362 ✭✭
    edited Nov 26, 2018 #4
    I'd be counting it.

    http://www.usgolfregister.org/faq

    https://www.usga.org...dx=148&Rule=100
    The USGA® recommends that a hole-in-one be considered valid:

    If made at a hole with a temporary tee and/or putting green in use, even if the Committee did not specifically define the teeing ground with tee-markers; the length of the hole at the time should be stated on any certificate.
    TM M3 460, Fujikura Pro Tour spec 73X
    TM M3 3HL, Fujikura Pro Tour spec 73X
    Mizuno MPH5 3-6, DG Pro S300
    Mizuno MP15 7-PW, DG Pro S300
    Mizuno MPT5 50.07, 54.12, 62.08, stock wedge shaft
    Mizuno Bettinardi C-03H 34"
  • Lefty96Lefty96 Posts: 144 ✭✭
    Of course it is. Sure its not how your course is normally set up, but it was how the course was set up that day. You aced a 157 yard par three. Would you question it if it happened at a course that wasn't your home course? It just happened on a "different" course. Congrats man!
    Callaway Rogue Subzero 9*/Hzrdus Yellow 6.5
    XR 16 15* 3w/fukijura 565 Stiff
    Adams Red 18*/Matrix altus Stiff
    4-PW 718 AP3/AMT tour white Stiff
    50* cleveland RTX 2.0 (10* bounce)
    56* cleveland RTX 2.0 (12* bounce)
    60* cleveland RTX 2.0 (6* bounce)
    Odyssey O-Works #9 with Garsen Ultimate grip
  • jslane57jslane57 Members Posts: 3,929 ✭✭
    Heck yeah! That is better than a regular hole in one as you've got to actually tell the whole story and show how the course was set up. This is a great passive brag thread:)
  • pdhoffpdhoff ClubWRX Posts: 83 ✭✭
    jslane57 wrote:


    Heck yeah! That is better than a regular hole in one as you've got to actually tell the whole story and show how the course was set up. This is a great passive brag thread:)




    Haha. You got me on the passive brag.

    rcb1586 wrote:


    I'd be counting it.

    http://www.usgolfregister.org/faq

    https://www.usga.org...dx=148&Rule=100
    The USGA® recommends that a hole-in-one be considered valid:

    If made at a hole with a temporary tee and/or putting green in use, even if the Committee did not specifically define the teeing ground with tee-markers; the length of the hole at the time should be stated on any certificate.





    This is awesome. Thanks!
    Driver: Callaway Rogue Sub Zero 9* (set to 8*), Tensei Pro Orange 70TX
    3W: Tour Edge Exotics CBX 15*, Diamana Whiteboard 80X
    2 iron: Taylormade P-790, Steelfiber i95 X
    4-5: Mizuno MP-18 MMC, DG X7
    6-P: Mizuno MP-18 MB, DG X7
    Vokey SM6: 50, 56, 62 DG X7
    Putter: custom Bettinardi Queen Bee #9
    Ball: Titleist AVX
  • larrybudlarrybud Members Posts: 11,224 ✭✭
    Your buddies only say "yes" because they want a free drink.



    I wouldn't count it for myself, only that I would want the round of golf to be a legit round. Was the round played according to the rules of golf?
  • pdhoffpdhoff ClubWRX Posts: 83 ✭✭
    larrybud wrote:


    Your buddies only say "yes" because they want a free drink.



    I wouldn't count it for myself, only that I would want the round of golf to be a legit round. Was the round played according to the rules of golf?




    Shamble format, but yes everything else about it was legit. I think the USGA rule that rcb1586 posted pretty much settles it. Don't get me wrong, I'd still like to card a no questions asked HIO as soon as possible to put any discussion to rest.
    Driver: Callaway Rogue Sub Zero 9* (set to 8*), Tensei Pro Orange 70TX
    3W: Tour Edge Exotics CBX 15*, Diamana Whiteboard 80X
    2 iron: Taylormade P-790, Steelfiber i95 X
    4-5: Mizuno MP-18 MMC, DG X7
    6-P: Mizuno MP-18 MB, DG X7
    Vokey SM6: 50, 56, 62 DG X7
    Putter: custom Bettinardi Queen Bee #9
    Ball: Titleist AVX
  • BaitkillerBaitkiller Members Posts: 1,707 ✭✭
    So gap wedge or lob? Nice 3 foot draw or the classic baby fade?

    Congratulations! I am in the close but no cigar contingent.
    Turn over damnit!
    Krank 9* Formula 5 UST Tour
    Adams 15* wasabi
    XXIO pro 5
    Adams Pro Gold Forged 3-46* / Steelfibers
    Vanilla wedges 53 and 58*
    Betti-1
    K-sig
  • KnightPSKnightPS Posts: 283 ✭✭
    At 157 yards, its certainly a hole in one.



    In High School one of our assistant coaches aced a 165 yard par 3. The catch was that it was an absolute horrible golf shot that only flew about 90 yards before it bounced and rolled up and into the cup. Took the wind out of his celebration and he was almost embarrassed to describe it in the team room. I would much rather have your story than his.
    TaylorMade M2 - Stock
    TaylorMade RocketBallz Stage 2 - 3w
    Titleist 915Hd 21° Aldila Rogue Black 85H
    Titleist AP2 FST KBS Tour X 4-PW
    Vokey SM5 52' 56' 60'
    Bettinardi BB43
  • FergusonFerguson Executive Member VAMembers Posts: 4,411 ✭✭
    edited Nov 26, 2018 #12
    Great story and I'm glad you made the shot.



    This description says it all - "makeshift tee box setup behind the 9th green, hitting over a pond to the 18th green"





    My conclusions:



    Anything "makeshift" does not constitute an official golf hole.



    You must ask yourself - will another golfer one week from now, one year from now or 10 years from now be able to replicate your shot from the contrived 157 yards from a makeshift tee box ?





    The answer to this question and the "main" question, "did you make a hole-in-one" share the same answer.



    The answer is, no.
  • BarfolomewBarfolomew #worstWRXer Members Posts: 1,210 ✭✭
    Yeah sounds good cause that was the set up.



    At least your first was a pure shot...beating the hole! Mine was a horrible skull shot bouncing off everything like a pin ball before going in so I still haven't hit the perfect shot in my book.... well done!
    G30 LS
    M2 BMW
    XR 4 Hybrid
    OnOffOnAgain Kuros
    Cleveland Blob
    Square Strike
    SeeMore Butts
  • jslane57jslane57 Members Posts: 3,929 ✭✭
    If Tiger or Phil would have had a hole-in-one during their playoff on the hole from the putting green, would it have counted? Absolutely.
  • DavePelz4DavePelz4 A golf course in the Chicago area.ClubWRX Posts: 24,200 ClubWRX
    First, congrats! Any hole played with 1 shot is a hole in 1. So when they put your name up on the plaque, what will be the hole designation for your ace?
  • Lefty96Lefty96 Posts: 144 ✭✭
    I am honestly surprised so many people are being so negative about it. He hit from where the tee blocks were set up to the designated green and it when in the hole. That is how the hole was supposed to be played that day. It was a par 3. Its not like the tee was 20 yards away from the green. Its not like he said "Hey should I try to hit the 18th green from here?" and it went in. No, that was how the course was set up that day and he aced the hole. I am actually pretty disappointed in the brashness of the nay-sayers.
    Callaway Rogue Subzero 9*/Hzrdus Yellow 6.5
    XR 16 15* 3w/fukijura 565 Stiff
    Adams Red 18*/Matrix altus Stiff
    4-PW 718 AP3/AMT tour white Stiff
    50* cleveland RTX 2.0 (10* bounce)
    56* cleveland RTX 2.0 (12* bounce)
    60* cleveland RTX 2.0 (6* bounce)
    Odyssey O-Works #9 with Garsen Ultimate grip
  • bigmoneypbigmoneyp MichiganMembers Posts: 3,220 ✭✭
    What if you were new player and never had a par before? If you would have carded a par would you question if your par was legit? I don't think it matter what you scored, you played from the tees as marked for the day and completed the hole following the rules of golf. Good Ace to me.
    Callaway X-Hot 3 Deep 14.5*
    Callaway Steelhead XR Hybrid 19*
    Callaway Steelhead XR Hybrid 22*
    Maltby DBM 4-PW w. PX LZ 6.0
    Taylormade Milled Grind 52* (bent to 50)
    Taylormade Milled Grind 58*
    Taylormade TP Mullen
    Callaway Hex Tour Soft
  • wildcatdenwildcatden China Cat Sunflower Members Posts: 825 ✭✭
    I say YES it is a hole-in-one unless it bounced off the clown's nose. Then no.
  • HatsForBatsHatsForBats Members Posts: 1,471 ✭✭
    Lefty96 wrote:


    I am honestly surprised so many people are being so negative about it. He hit from where the tee blocks were set up to the designated green and it when in the hole. That is how the hole was supposed to be played that day. It was a par 3. Its not like the tee was 20 yards away from the green. Its not like he said "Hey should I try to hit the 18th green from here?" and it went in. No, that was how the course was set up that day and he aced the hole. I am actually pretty disappointed in the brashness of the nay-sayers.




    I'm not surprised by the negativity in the least. The great thing about this type of hole in one is it helps easily identify the stuffed shirts in the crowd.
  • FergusonFerguson Executive Member VAMembers Posts: 4,411 ✭✭
    Lefty96 wrote:


    I am honestly surprised so many people are being so negative about it. He hit from where the tee blocks were set up to the designated green and it when in the hole. That is how the hole was supposed to be played that day. It was a par 3. Its not like the tee was 20 yards away from the green. Its not like he said "Hey should I try to hit the 18th green from here?" and it went in. No, that was how the course was set up that day and he aced the hole. I am actually pretty disappointed in the brashness of the nay-sayers.






    "So many people" ????



    It was only me and LARRYBUD who didn't acquiesce.
  • wkuo3wkuo3 RELEASE Members Posts: 3,794 ClubWRX
    Where is my drink ticket ? Or, where is the open bar ?
  • clp34vmpclp34vmp Cancel that mead Posts: 229 ✭✭
    I vote with the hole in one crew. There was a tee box set up 157 yards from a pin, you played hole as it was specifically designated to be played that day, and you played it one shot. That's a hole in one as far as I'm concerned. Although getting one of those plaques you can buy in the pro shop with your name, the date, and a picture of the hole it occurred on might be kind of difficult in this case.
  • Golfer4LifeGolfer4Life Bob Parsons Bodyguard, Chump! ClubWRX Posts: 2,152
    Certainly! Congratulations!
    PXG Derangement Syndrome, it is real.......<br /><br />Equipment:<br /><br />A bag full of PXG’s<br />Non Titleist Welded Neck 35/330g SC 009<br /><br />“Check your Ego at the Club House and Play the Correct Tees”
  • FairwayFredFairwayFred Sponsors Posts: 3,966 ✭✭
    Absolutely 100% a hole in one.
    FREE AGENT CLUB HO NO MO!
    Ari Techner
    National Custom Works nationalcustomworks.com
    [email protected]
    IG: @nationalcustom
    Twitter: @WorksNational
    (still a huge club HO)
  • golfgirlrobingolfgirlrobin Members Posts: 2,280 ✭✭
    I’m generally a hardas* about stuff like this and whether it counts, but I’d definitely call it legit. You play the course as you find it.
    Driver: Ping G400 Max 10.5*
    Fairway: Epic Flash 14* & 20*
    Hybrid: Ping G410 22*
    Irons: TaylorMade M CGB 6-SW
    Wedges: Callaway 2019 PM Grind 59* and 64*
    Putter: TaylorMade Spider X - Copper / Odyssey Stroke Lab Double Wide
  • MtlJeffMtlJeff MontrealMembers Posts: 28,150 ✭✭
    The course is set up how it's set up....if you hit the ball in the hole in one shot.....it counts
    Ping G400 Max 9 w/ Matrix Black Tie 80
    Callaway Epic Subzero 14* w//Matrix Black Tie 80
    Callaway Apex Hybrid 20 w/Diamana D+ 95
    Callaway 2016 Apex Pro 4-PW w/S300
    Callaway MD Forged 52,56,60 w/S300
    Odyssey O-works #7 Red Tank
  • BuzzkillBuzzkill Marshals Posts: 6,692 mod
    b.helts wrote:


    Of course it is a hole in one. Congrats!!



    Certainly! Congratulations!



    Absolutely 100% a hole in one.




    Yep and Congrats!
  • Hawkeye77Hawkeye77 Countdown to The Masters! ClubWRX Posts: 17,342 ClubWRX
    I'll have a Fresca! Good job!
  • kwcsportskwcsports Members Posts: 745 ✭✭
    Yes it counts, congrats.
    WITB
    Ping G10 Driver- Matrix White Tie
    Adams Tight Lies 2 3W- Kuro Kage
    Adams Tight Lies 2- 3H- Kuro Kage
    Taylormade Burner 2.0 5-AW- NS Pro 950GH
    Lynx Parallax SW- XP105
    Ping Eye 2 SW- XP105
    Nike VR Forged LW- XP105
    Taylormade Big Fontana
  • FourTopsFourTops Banned Posts: 1,676 ✭✭
    Does buying a quick-pick lotto number...and you win...count as a goofy get-rich scheme?
  • zonadubzonadub Posts: 292 ✭✭
    Ferguson wrote:


    Great story and I'm glad you made the shot.



    This description says it all - "makeshift tee box setup behind the 9th green, hitting over a pond to the 18th green"





    My conclusions:



    Anything "makeshift" does not constitute an official golf hole.



    You must ask yourself - will another golfer one week from now, one year from now or 10 years from now be able to replicate your shot from the contrived 157 yards from a makeshift tee box ?





    The answer to this question and the "main" question, "did you make a hole-in-one" share the same answer.



    The answer is, no.




    They can set up the course the same way in following years, 1 year, 10 years and players will have the opportunity to replicate your ace. . 157 yards in 1 shot is a hole in one.



    So yes, the answer to both questions is yes.
    How to play golf.
    Hit the ball.
    Find the ball
    Repeat until the ball is in the hole.
    Have fun.
    ...Chuck Hogan
«13
Sign In or Register to comment.