2020 PGA Merchandise Show Coverage.... Here.

Does a goofy golf hole in one still count as a hole in one?

 pdhoff ·  
pdhoffpdhoff  91WRX Points: 23Handicap: 4ClubWRX Posts: 91
Joined:  in General Golf Talk #1
Every golfers worst nightmare. You make your first hole in one and there is something quirky about it that makes you question whether it's real. For most people this probably happens when they make an ace playing alone. For me, it happened in a goofy winter tournament setup......



The annual Turkey Shoot.....a no pressure, mostly drinking event, where the pros get to have some fun in setting up the layout. What this entails is setting up most of the course to play backwards (example, play from 13 tee back to 12 green, or play a par 5 spread across multiple holes). So we get to what is our 16th hole of the day.....makeshift teebox setup behind the 9th green, hitting over a pond to the 18th green....157 yards. I knew I hit a good shot right at the flag but thought it might have been a little long (couldn't see the hole from the tee).....my playing partners looked around and sure enough my ball was in the hole........let the screaming and bourbon shots ensue.



Now i'm faced with the tough question. Was this a real hole in one??? My playing partners definitely say yes, I'm inclined to say yes, but there were a few rumblings in the clubhouse about it not being legit.
Posted:
Driver: Callaway Rogue Sub Zero 9* (set to 8*), Tensei Pro Orange 70TX
3W: Tour Edge Exotics CBX 15*, Diamana Whiteboard 80X
2 iron: Taylormade P-790, Steelfiber i95 X
4-5: Mizuno MP-18 MMC, DG X7
6-P: Mizuno MP-18 MB, DG X7
Vokey SM6: 50, 56, 62 DG X7
Putter: custom Bettinardi Queen Bee #9
Ball: Titleist AVX
«13
3

Comments

  • BrianMcGBrianMcG  2377WRX Points: 663Members Posts: 2,377
    Joined:  #2
    It makes a great story regardless.
    Posted:
    Walter: Tell me Bobby, why do you play this game?
    Bobby: I play because I love it.
    Walter: Well I play for the money. I have to win. That is why every time we face each other I will always beat you.
  • GolfWRXGolfWRX Warning Points: 0  11 Members Posts: 11 #ad
    Joined:  ...

    Advertisement
  • b.heltsb.helts  3124WRX Points: 568Members Posts: 3,124
    Joined:  #3
    Of course it is a hole in one. Congrats!!
    Posted:
  • rcb1586rcb1586  402WRX Points: 93Handicap: 10Members Posts: 402
    Joined:  edited Nov 26, 2018 #4
    I'd be counting it.

    http://www.usgolfregister.org/faq

    https://www.usga.org...dx=148&Rule=100
    The USGA® recommends that a hole-in-one be considered valid:

    If made at a hole with a temporary tee and/or putting green in use, even if the Committee did not specifically define the teeing ground with tee-markers; the length of the hole at the time should be stated on any certificate.
    Posted:
    TM M3 460, Hzrdus Yellow 6.0
    TM M3 3HL, Fujikura Pro Tour spec 73X
    TM P790 3, Axivcore Black Hybrid TX
    Mizuno MPH5 4-6, DG Pro S300
    Mizuno MP15 7-PW, DG Pro S300
    Mizuno MPT5 50.07, 54.12, 62.08, DG Wedge
    Mizuno Bettinardi C-03H 34"
  • Lefty96Lefty96  243WRX Points: 173Members Posts: 243
    Joined:  #5
    Of course it is. Sure its not how your course is normally set up, but it was how the course was set up that day. You aced a 157 yard par three. Would you question it if it happened at a course that wasn't your home course? It just happened on a "different" course. Congrats man!
    Posted:
    Callaway Rogue Subzero 9*/Hzrdus Yellow 6.5
    XR 16 15* 3w/fukijura 565 Stiff
    Adams Red 18*/Matrix altus Stiff
    4-PW 718 AP3/AMT tour white Stiff
    50* cleveland RTX 2.0 (10* bounce)
    56* cleveland RTX 2.0 (12* bounce)
    60* cleveland RTX 2.0 (6* bounce)
    Odyssey O-Works #9 with Garsen Ultimate grip
  • jslane57jslane57  3929WRX Points: 25Handicap: <5Members Posts: 3,929
    Joined:  #6
    Heck yeah! That is better than a regular hole in one as you've got to actually tell the whole story and show how the course was set up. This is a great passive brag thread:)
    Posted:
  • pdhoffpdhoff  91WRX Points: 23Handicap: 4ClubWRX Posts: 91
    Joined:  #7
    jslane57 wrote:


    Heck yeah! That is better than a regular hole in one as you've got to actually tell the whole story and show how the course was set up. This is a great passive brag thread:)




    Haha. You got me on the passive brag.

    rcb1586 wrote:


    I'd be counting it.

    http://www.usgolfregister.org/faq

    https://www.usga.org...dx=148&Rule=100
    The USGA® recommends that a hole-in-one be considered valid:

    If made at a hole with a temporary tee and/or putting green in use, even if the Committee did not specifically define the teeing ground with tee-markers; the length of the hole at the time should be stated on any certificate.





    This is awesome. Thanks!
    Posted:
    Driver: Callaway Rogue Sub Zero 9* (set to 8*), Tensei Pro Orange 70TX
    3W: Tour Edge Exotics CBX 15*, Diamana Whiteboard 80X
    2 iron: Taylormade P-790, Steelfiber i95 X
    4-5: Mizuno MP-18 MMC, DG X7
    6-P: Mizuno MP-18 MB, DG X7
    Vokey SM6: 50, 56, 62 DG X7
    Putter: custom Bettinardi Queen Bee #9
    Ball: Titleist AVX
  • GolfWRXGolfWRX Warning Points: 0  11 Members Posts: 11 #ad
    Joined:  ...

    Advertisement
  • larrybudlarrybud Rochester Hills, MI 11565WRX Points: 468Handicap: 3.4Members Posts: 11,565
    Joined:  #8
    Your buddies only say "yes" because they want a free drink.



    I wouldn't count it for myself, only that I would want the round of golf to be a legit round. Was the round played according to the rules of golf?
    Posted:
  • pdhoffpdhoff  91WRX Points: 23Handicap: 4ClubWRX Posts: 91
    Joined:  #9
    larrybud wrote:


    Your buddies only say "yes" because they want a free drink.



    I wouldn't count it for myself, only that I would want the round of golf to be a legit round. Was the round played according to the rules of golf?




    Shamble format, but yes everything else about it was legit. I think the USGA rule that rcb1586 posted pretty much settles it. Don't get me wrong, I'd still like to card a no questions asked HIO as soon as possible to put any discussion to rest.
    Posted:
    Driver: Callaway Rogue Sub Zero 9* (set to 8*), Tensei Pro Orange 70TX
    3W: Tour Edge Exotics CBX 15*, Diamana Whiteboard 80X
    2 iron: Taylormade P-790, Steelfiber i95 X
    4-5: Mizuno MP-18 MMC, DG X7
    6-P: Mizuno MP-18 MB, DG X7
    Vokey SM6: 50, 56, 62 DG X7
    Putter: custom Bettinardi Queen Bee #9
    Ball: Titleist AVX
  • BaitkillerBaitkiller  1775WRX Points: 172Handicap: YesMembers Posts: 1,775
    Joined:  #10
    So gap wedge or lob? Nice 3 foot draw or the classic baby fade?

    Congratulations! I am in the close but no cigar contingent.
    Posted:
    Turn over damnit!
    Krank 9* Formula 5 UST Tour
    Adams 15* wasabi
    XXIO pro 5
    Adams Pro Gold Forged 3-46* / Steelfibers
    Vanilla wedges 53 and 58*
    Betti-1
    K-sig
  • KnightPSKnightPS  291WRX Points: 46Handicap: 7.3Members Posts: 291
    Joined:  #11
    At 157 yards, its certainly a hole in one.



    In High School one of our assistant coaches aced a 165 yard par 3. The catch was that it was an absolute horrible golf shot that only flew about 90 yards before it bounced and rolled up and into the cup. Took the wind out of his celebration and he was almost embarrassed to describe it in the team room. I would much rather have your story than his.
    Posted:
    TaylorMade M2 - Stock
    TaylorMade RocketBallz Stage 2 - 3w
    Titleist 915Hd 21° Aldila Rogue Black 85H
    Titleist AP2 FST KBS Tour X 4-PW
    Vokey SM5 52' 56' 60'
    Bettinardi BB43
  • FergusonFerguson  5590WRX Points: 2,731Handicap: 6.8Members Posts: 5,590
    Joined:  edited Nov 26, 2018 #12
    Great story and I'm glad you made the shot.



    This description says it all - "makeshift tee box setup behind the 9th green, hitting over a pond to the 18th green"





    My conclusions:



    Anything "makeshift" does not constitute an official golf hole.



    You must ask yourself - will another golfer one week from now, one year from now or 10 years from now be able to replicate your shot from the contrived 157 yards from a makeshift tee box ?





    The answer to this question and the "main" question, "did you make a hole-in-one" share the same answer.



    The answer is, no.
    Posted:
  • GolfWRXGolfWRX Warning Points: 0  11 Members Posts: 11 #ad
    Joined:  ...

    Advertisement
  • BarfolomewBarfolomew #worstWRXer  1765WRX Points: 339Members Posts: 1,765
    Joined:  #13
    Yeah sounds good cause that was the set up.



    At least your first was a pure shot...beating the hole! Mine was a horrible skull shot bouncing off everything like a pin ball before going in so I still haven't hit the perfect shot in my book.... well done!
    Posted:
    G30 LST
    3 wood M2 HL
    OnOffOnAgain Kuros 4-P
    Cleveland Blob
    SeeMore Butts
  • jslane57jslane57  3929WRX Points: 25Handicap: <5Members Posts: 3,929
    Joined:  #14
    If Tiger or Phil would have had a hole-in-one during their playoff on the hole from the putting green, would it have counted? Absolutely.
    Posted:
  • DavePelz4DavePelz4 A golf course in the Chicago area. 25238WRX Points: 2,255Handicap: 2 ManyClubWRX Posts: 25,238
    Joined:  #15
    First, congrats! Any hole played with 1 shot is a hole in 1. So when they put your name up on the plaque, what will be the hole designation for your ace?
    Posted:
  • Lefty96Lefty96  243WRX Points: 173Members Posts: 243
    Joined:  #16
    I am honestly surprised so many people are being so negative about it. He hit from where the tee blocks were set up to the designated green and it when in the hole. That is how the hole was supposed to be played that day. It was a par 3. Its not like the tee was 20 yards away from the green. Its not like he said "Hey should I try to hit the 18th green from here?" and it went in. No, that was how the course was set up that day and he aced the hole. I am actually pretty disappointed in the brashness of the nay-sayers.
    Posted:
    Callaway Rogue Subzero 9*/Hzrdus Yellow 6.5
    XR 16 15* 3w/fukijura 565 Stiff
    Adams Red 18*/Matrix altus Stiff
    4-PW 718 AP3/AMT tour white Stiff
    50* cleveland RTX 2.0 (10* bounce)
    56* cleveland RTX 2.0 (12* bounce)
    60* cleveland RTX 2.0 (6* bounce)
    Odyssey O-Works #9 with Garsen Ultimate grip
  • bigmoneypbigmoneyp Michigan 3431WRX Points: 256Members Posts: 3,431
    Joined:  #17
    What if you were new player and never had a par before? If you would have carded a par would you question if your par was legit? I don't think it matter what you scored, you played from the tees as marked for the day and completed the hole following the rules of golf. Good Ace to me.
    Posted:
  • GolfWRXGolfWRX Warning Points: 0  11 Members Posts: 11 #ad
    Joined:  ...

    Advertisement
  • wildcatdenwildcatden China Cat Sunflower  1108WRX Points: 503Members Posts: 1,108
    Joined:  #18
    I say YES it is a hole-in-one unless it bounced off the clown's nose. Then no.
    Posted:

    -- He who has the fastest golf cart never has a bad lie. --

  • HatsForBatsHatsForBats  1981WRX Points: 266Handicap: 7Members Posts: 1,981
    Joined:  #19
    Lefty96 wrote:


    I am honestly surprised so many people are being so negative about it. He hit from where the tee blocks were set up to the designated green and it when in the hole. That is how the hole was supposed to be played that day. It was a par 3. Its not like the tee was 20 yards away from the green. Its not like he said "Hey should I try to hit the 18th green from here?" and it went in. No, that was how the course was set up that day and he aced the hole. I am actually pretty disappointed in the brashness of the nay-sayers.




    I'm not surprised by the negativity in the least. The great thing about this type of hole in one is it helps easily identify the stuffed shirts in the crowd.
    Posted:
  • FergusonFerguson  5590WRX Points: 2,731Handicap: 6.8Members Posts: 5,590
    Joined:  #20
    Lefty96 wrote:


    I am honestly surprised so many people are being so negative about it. He hit from where the tee blocks were set up to the designated green and it when in the hole. That is how the hole was supposed to be played that day. It was a par 3. Its not like the tee was 20 yards away from the green. Its not like he said "Hey should I try to hit the 18th green from here?" and it went in. No, that was how the course was set up that day and he aced the hole. I am actually pretty disappointed in the brashness of the nay-sayers.






    "So many people" ????



    It was only me and LARRYBUD who didn't acquiesce.
    Posted:
  • wkuo3wkuo3 RELEASE  4370WRX Points: 385Members Posts: 4,370
    Joined:  #21
    Where is my drink ticket ? Or, where is the open bar ?
    Posted:
  • clp34vmpclp34vmp Cancel that mead  285WRX Points: 108Handicap: 7.7Members Posts: 285
    Joined:  #22
    I vote with the hole in one crew. There was a tee box set up 157 yards from a pin, you played hole as it was specifically designated to be played that day, and you played it one shot. That's a hole in one as far as I'm concerned. Although getting one of those plaques you can buy in the pro shop with your name, the date, and a picture of the hole it occurred on might be kind of difficult in this case.
    Posted:
  • GolfWRXGolfWRX Warning Points: 0  11 Members Posts: 11 #ad
    Joined:  ...

    Advertisement
  • FairwayFredFairwayFred  4345WRX Points: 497Sponsors Posts: 4,345
    Joined:  #23
    Absolutely 100% a hole in one.
    Posted:
    FREE AGENT CLUB HO NO MO!
    Ari Techner
    National Custom Works nationalcustomworks.com
    [email protected]
    IG:
    Twitter:
    (still a huge club HO)
  • golfgirlrobingolfgirlrobin  2382WRX Points: 411Handicap: 2.0Members Posts: 2,382
    Joined:  #24
    I’m generally a hardas* about stuff like this and whether it counts, but I’d definitely call it legit. You play the course as you find it.
    Posted:
    Driver: Ping G400 Max 10.5*
    Fairway: Epic Flash 14* & 20*
    Hybrid: Ping G410 22*
    Irons: TaylorMade M CGB 6-SW
    Wedges: Callaway PM Grind 59* and 64*
    Putter: Ping Vault 2.0 Ketsch
    Ball:  Titleist Pro V1 
  • MtlJeffMtlJeff Montreal 29235WRX Points: 2,115Handicap: 0.0Members Posts: 29,235
    Joined:  #25
    The course is set up how it's set up....if you hit the ball in the hole in one shot.....it counts
    Posted:
    Cobra King F9 w/Fujikura Atmos TS Black 7
    Cobra King F9 w/Matrix Black Tie 80
    Callaway Apex 20 w/Diamana D+ 95
    Ping G410 4-SW w/S300
    Callaway MD 2.0 60 PM grind w/S300
    Odyssey O-works Red Tank #7
  • BuzzkillBuzzkill  7067WRX Points: 482Handicap: 3Marshals Posts: 7,067 Marshals
    Joined:  #26
    b.helts wrote:


    Of course it is a hole in one. Congrats!!



    Certainly! Congratulations!



    Absolutely 100% a hole in one.




    Yep and Congrats!
    Posted:
    Minimalist Bag!
    Location:  Colorado Springs, CO
    Handicap:  3

  • Hawkeye77Hawkeye77 Iowa 20021WRX Points: 3,992ClubWRX Posts: 20,021
    Joined:  #27
    I'll have a Fresca! Good job!
    Posted:
  • GolfWRXGolfWRX Warning Points: 0  11 Members Posts: 11 #ad
    Joined:  ...

    Advertisement
  • kwcsportskwcsports Nova Scotia, Canada 778WRX Points: 121Handicap: 11Members Posts: 778
    Joined:  #28
    Yes it counts, congrats.
    Posted:
    WITB
    Ping G10 Driver- Matrix White Tie
    TM M2 3 Wood- Matrix White Tie
    Callaway Xhot 4 hybrid- Matrix White Tie
    Ping G30 - 5-SW- TFC 419
    Ping Eye 2 SW- DG S300
    Callaway Mack Daddy Forged 60/10- Nippon NS Pro
    Ray Cook Blue Goose
    TM TP5X ball
  • FourTopsFourTops  1676WRX Points: 12Handicap: 5.7Banned Posts: 1,676
    Joined:  #29
    Does buying a quick-pick lotto number...and you win...count as a goofy get-rich scheme?
    Posted:
  • zonadubzonadub  326WRX Points: 99Members Posts: 326
    Joined:  #30
    Ferguson wrote:


    Great story and I'm glad you made the shot.



    This description says it all - "makeshift tee box setup behind the 9th green, hitting over a pond to the 18th green"





    My conclusions:



    Anything "makeshift" does not constitute an official golf hole.



    You must ask yourself - will another golfer one week from now, one year from now or 10 years from now be able to replicate your shot from the contrived 157 yards from a makeshift tee box ?





    The answer to this question and the "main" question, "did you make a hole-in-one" share the same answer.



    The answer is, no.




    They can set up the course the same way in following years, 1 year, 10 years and players will have the opportunity to replicate your ace. . 157 yards in 1 shot is a hole in one.



    So yes, the answer to both questions is yes.
    Posted:
    How to play golf.
    Hit the ball.
    Find the ball
    Repeat until the ball is in the hole.
    Have fun.
    ...Chuck Hogan
3

Leave a Comment

Rich Text Editor. To edit a paragraph's style, hit tab to get to the paragraph menu. From there you will be able to pick one style. Nothing defaults to paragraph. An inline formatting menu will show up when you select text. Hit tab to get into that menu. Some elements, such as rich link embeds, images, loading indicators, and error messages may get inserted into the editor. You may navigate to these using the arrow keys inside of the editor and delete them with the delete or backspace key.