John Senden at the Australian PGA

2

Comments

  • Back t the topic at hand. If you look at Senden’s follow through his arms are all out of position. To me, it’s evidence he wasn’t trying to hit the ball.
  • b.heltsb.helts Members Posts: 2,824 ✭✭

    b.helts wrote:


    Not watching but sounds amazing. If anyone sees a video and can post it here I’d love to check it out.



    At q school, 1st stage, in 2003 I think, my 3 wood shaft splintered in the middle of my downswing on the 10th hole at Dayton Valley. It went about 210 yards and like 40 yards left, almost out of bounds. Can’t imagine a total whiff. God that sucks.




    Complete thread jack, but I see you’re from Los Osos. Going to the Straight Down?




    I played in it a few years ago. Not going this year.
  • lowheellowheel LOWHEEL Members Posts: 5,974 ✭✭


    I don't know who, but someone threw an F bomb in the background when he was told about the tee position.




    As he should, its a terrible rule with no real life application. There is no advantage to be gained in this scenario. Senden has alot of lag and is a prolific ball striker. He should be allowed to tee it down.
  • b.heltsb.helts Members Posts: 2,824 ✭✭
    lowheel wrote:



    I don't know who, but someone threw an F bomb in the background when he was told about the tee position.




    As he should, its a terrible rule with no real life application. There is no advantage to be gained in this scenario. Senden has alot of lag and is a prolific ball striker. He should be allowed to tee it down.




    The ball shouldn’t have been in play to begin with. BUT, once it was deemed to have been in play, the only option was for him to have to play it as it lied.
  • anthanth From the Land Down Under Members Posts: 2,760 ✭✭
    My understanding was no intent = no stroke.



    Secondly, why can’t he replace his driver? It was broken during the course of play. Is it a time issue? As in it would take too long to get a new driver to him out on course?
    Callaway Rogue 10.5
    Callaway BB Alpha 816 16
    Srixon Z H45 19 Hybrid
    Srixon Z U45 23 Utility
    Srixon Z 765/965 5 - PW
    TaylorMade Milled Grind 50 & 54
    TaylorMade Milled Grind Hi Toe 58
    TaylorMade Spider Tour Red
    TaylorMade TP5
  • thevaporzthevaporz Members Posts: 2,801 ✭✭
    He didn't bring a backup driver.
  • OutBackHackOutBackHack Members Posts: 902 ✭✭
    anth wrote:


    My understanding was no intent = no stroke.



    Secondly, why can’t he replace his driver? It was broken during the course of play. Is it a time issue? As in it would take too long to get a new driver to him out on course?




    Next year the option to replace a damaged club is gone... You have to suck it up for the rest of the round. You can still use the non conforming club for the remainder of the round though.
  • sui generissui generis Members Posts: 3,768 ✭✭
    b.helts wrote:

    lowheel wrote:



    I don't know who, but someone threw an F bomb in the background when he was told about the tee position.




    As he should, its a terrible rule with no real life application. There is no advantage to be gained in this scenario. Senden has alot of lag and is a prolific ball striker. He should be allowed to tee it down.




    The ball shouldn't have been in play to begin with. BUT, once it was deemed to have been in play, the only option was for him to have to play it as it lied.




    If it was determined that the ball was in play, he could take relief from the moveable obstruction (the tee) it was on and drop.
    Knowledge of the Rules is part of the applied skill set which a player must use to play a round of competitive golf.
  • ValtielValtiel Konica-Minolta Bizhub Members Posts: 1,781 ✭✭
    John Senden WITB Google searches have likely tripled. :p
    Taylormade M1 430 8.5* Tensei Pro Orange V2 70TX || Titleist 915D3 8.5* Diamana Kai'li 80x
    Callaway XHot 3Deep Pro 14.5* Fujikura Motore VC 8.3 Tour Spec X || Nike SQ2 13* Diamana Blueboard 83x
    Nike Tour Issue SQ2 17* Diamana Blueboard 103x || SQ2 15* Diamana Blueboard 93x
    PING Anser 20* Aldila Rogue Black 110MSI 105h Tour-X || Taylormade V-Steel 21* Project X Rifle Satin 6.5
    Mizuno MP-H4 3i 21* Project X PXi 7.0
    Mizuno MP-H4 4i 24* Project X PXi 7.0
    Mizuno MP-59 4i-PW 27*- 48* Brunswick Precision Rifle FCM 7.0
    Vokey Mild Raw 8620 54* Brunswick Precision Rifle FCM 7.0
    Vokey  SM6 58* Oil Can Low Bounce K-Grind Brunswick Precision FCM 7.3 SSx1
    Vokey Special 62* Black Oxide V-Grind Brunswick Precision FCM 7.3 SSx2
    Scotty Cameron Santa Fe Bullseye shaft

    WITB Thread
  • b.heltsb.helts Members Posts: 2,824 ✭✭

    b.helts wrote:

    lowheel wrote:



    I don't know who, but someone threw an F bomb in the background when he was told about the tee position.




    As he should, its a terrible rule with no real life application. There is no advantage to be gained in this scenario. Senden has alot of lag and is a prolific ball striker. He should be allowed to tee it down.




    The ball shouldn't have been in play to begin with. BUT, once it was deemed to have been in play, the only option was for him to have to play it as it lied.




    If it was determined that the ball was in play, he could take relief from the moveable obstruction (the tee) it was on and drop.




    You’re right! I missed that. Is that what happened or did he hit his iron off the driver tee?
  • The Mad BomberThe Mad Bomber I seem to not like new things. Get off my lawn... Posts: 1,036 ✭✭
    Valtiel wrote:


    John Senden WITB Google searches have likely tripled. :p




    This is the million dollar question - what was the shaft? Slow-mo is inconclusive, but the baby blue band is almost TPT'ish'...
    915 D3 7.5º w/ Grafalloy blue
    909F2 15.5º w/ Grafalloy blue
    T-MB 2 iron C-Taper
    Mizzy MP-5 4-9 C-Taper
    SM6 47º, 52º, 56º C-Taper
    Mizzy S18 60-06º Blue Ion
    Scotty Newport 2, 35" Tour Issue X7, Hard stepped x2, Tipped 2"


    WITB link
  • OGrads13OGrads13 Members Posts: 40 ✭✭
    This exact thing just happened to my brother while we were playing over Thanksgiving. First tee, people eating in the dining area watching. Unlike Senden, he was able to find the fairway.
    PXG 0811X
    PXG 0341X
    Titleist 816H2 Hybrid
    Mizuno MP-18 SC (4-6)
    Mizuno MP-18 (7-P)
    Callaway MD 3 Wedges- 50, 54, 58
    Bettinardi Studio Stock #28
  • ebrasmus21ebrasmus21 Serial Shanker Members Posts: 5,161 ✭✭

    Valtiel wrote:


    John Senden WITB Google searches have likely tripled. :p




    This is the million dollar question - what was the shaft? Slow-mo is inconclusive, but the baby blue band is almost TPT'ish'...




    I’m pretty sure you’re correct. I thought he was a pro orange guy but that is looking like a TPT
    G400 LST - TPT proto
    TM M3 - Rogue Silver 110MSI 70S
    21* Fourteen Type 7 Driving Iron - HZRDUS Black 6.5 105g
    4 - PW Mizuno MP 18 MMC - SteelFiber FC115
    50, 54, 60 RC Dual Bite - SteelFiber i125
    Evnroll ER5
    Snell MTB Black
  • cardoustiecardoustie haha, we don't play for 5's Members Posts: 11,599 ✭✭
    For sure he pulls out of the shot, you see him chicken wing it.



    Official got it wrong



    PS this rule should be added in asap, club breaks during swing. Free replay (like hitting power lines) optional
    Ping G400 LST 11* Mitsu TI BB Matte 53x
    Callaway GBB 3w 14* Mitsu Blueboard 63x
    Ping G400 5w 17* Fubuki Tour 73x
    Callaway V-series Hwood Fuji TS 8.2s
    Callaway Apex 4h 23* Fujikura 904HBs
    Ping Rapture 5-PW Aldila NV MLTi Pro105x
    Ping iWedge 50* Aldila NV 105x
    Ping Glide SS 53* & ES 59* Wrx SF125s
    Piretti Matera Elite (torched)
  • grm24grm24 Western PAMembers Posts: 2,992 ✭✭
    b.helts wrote:


    b.helts wrote:

    lowheel wrote:



    I don't know who, but someone threw an F bomb in the background when he was told about the tee position.




    As he should, its a terrible rule with no real life application. There is no advantage to be gained in this scenario. Senden has alot of lag and is a prolific ball striker. He should be allowed to tee it down.




    The ball shouldn't have been in play to begin with. BUT, once it was deemed to have been in play, the only option was for him to have to play it as it lied.




    If it was determined that the ball was in play, he could take relief from the moveable obstruction (the tee) it was on and drop.




    You're right! I missed that. Is that what happened or did he hit his iron off the driver tee?
    He took a drop.



    https://www.golfdigest.com/story/watch-john-sendens-driver-snap-mid-swing-cause-him-to-whiff-on-tee-shot-at-australian-pga-championship



    Senden actually wound up getting to take a drop when his tee was considered an obstruction, but the shot was not rescinded. He played an iron for his second and went on to make bogey, which, all things considered, was a great result.
  • golfgirlrobingolfgirlrobin Members Posts: 2,280 ✭✭


    Back t the topic at hand. If you look at Senden’s follow through his arms are all out of position. To me, it’s evidence he wasn’t trying to hit the ball.




    Just as easy to argue that his arms are way out of position simply because the shaft broke and losing control of the swing is simply the natural result. Parts aren’t going to stay in the correct position.



    Obviously I’m not a professional, but having had a shaft break, the only thought that went through my head was WTF is going on here? It’s absolutely the last thing you’re expecting, especially off a tee, and I have a hard time believing that he identified the problem and attempted a correction in that split second.



    To me, it’s completely different from the Na situation where he had control of the club and was considering stopping before he even started. There was a thought process going on before he ever took the club back.
    Driver: Ping G400 Max 10.5*
    Fairway: Epic Flash 14* & 20*
    Hybrid: Ping G410 22*
    Irons: TaylorMade M CGB 6-SW
    Wedges: Callaway 2019 PM Grind 59* and 64*
    Putter: TaylorMade Spider X - Copper / Odyssey Stroke Lab Double Wide
  • I_HATE_SNOWI_HATE_SNOW Members Posts: 3,228 ✭✭
    Should have had a spare shaft in the bag, swap it and hit it.
  • OutBackHackOutBackHack Members Posts: 902 ✭✭


    Should have had a spare shaft in the bag, swap it and hit it.




    Pretty sure that's illegal.

  • sui generissui generis Members Posts: 3,768 ✭✭
    The conversation with the Committee may have gone something like this:



    Chief Referee, John Paramor, "Mr Senden, when you felt the shaft break did you change your mind about trying to hit the ball?"



    John Senden, "Well it all happened so fast. My hand hurt like **** and I just reacted."



    JP, "So did you try to miss the ball with your swing?"



    JS, "I don't know."



    JP, "I'm afraid the stroke must count."



    From Golf Australia, Senden said of the incident. “I had no chance of actually stopping the shot, so unfortunately that counts as actually one stroke."



    https://www.golfaust...decision-516254
    Knowledge of the Rules is part of the applied skill set which a player must use to play a round of competitive golf.
  • MattyO1984MattyO1984 Members Posts: 4,742 ClubWRX
    Never seen anything like that happen, pretty remarkable.



    I did hear that Chubby Chandler back when he was a Pro used to snap shafts a lot when he younger but I am pretty sure it was Chubby who told that story which means I took it with a pinch of salt.
    Titleist TS3 8.5 Stiff Project X Even Flow White T1100
    Titleist 915Fd 15 Stiff Rogue Black
    Titleist 915Hd 17.5 Stiff Diamana S+
    Titleist 714 AP2 4-PW Stiff KBS Tour
    Titleist Vokey SM6 50.08, 54.10 & 60.04
    Scotty Cameron Futura 5S
    ProV1x
  • seve1972seve1972 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭
    ....just in....John Senden admitted to buying that driver off of Ebay. If you listen to the caddie on the audio......."dude....this driver is a knock-off"...... true story.
  • I_HATE_SNOWI_HATE_SNOW Members Posts: 3,228 ✭✭



    Should have had a spare shaft in the bag, swap it and hit it.




    Pretty sure that's illegal.


    Why? Replacing a damaged club is still legal. Spare shaft isn't a club. Should get around the 14 club rule, just don't try to change an unbroken shaft during the round.
  • OutBackHackOutBackHack Members Posts: 902 ✭✭




    Should have had a spare shaft in the bag, swap it and hit it.




    Pretty sure that's illegal.


    Why? Replacing a damaged club is still legal. Spare shaft isn't a club. Should get around the 14 club rule, just don't try to change an unbroken shaft during the round.




    I don't think carrying spare parts to do on course repairs is legal.... I'll let the rules aficionados site the rule though.
  • I_HATE_SNOWI_HATE_SNOW Members Posts: 3,228 ✭✭
    edited Nov 29, 2018 #55

    anth wrote:


    My understanding was no intent = no stroke.



    Secondly, why can't he replace his driver? It was broken during the course of play. Is it a time issue? As in it would take too long to get a new driver to him out on course?




    Next year the option to replace a damaged club is gone... You have to suck it up for the rest of the round. You can still use the non conforming club for the remainder of the round though.
    Did not know that, had to find it.









    Golf's New Rules: Major Changes









    2019 Rule: Under Rule 4.1:
    • A player will be allowed to keep using and/or to repair any club damaged during the round, no matter what the damage and even if the player damaged it in anger.
    • A player will not be allowed to replace a damaged club, except when it is damaged during the round by an outside influence or natural forces or by someone other than the player or his or her caddie.


    Reasons for Change:

    This Rule change will greatly simplify the complex Rules on damaged clubs.

    In particular, deciding when a club is “unfit for play” may require a technical judgment that few players have the depth of understanding to make, and even referees can find it challenging to make such judgments quickly and consistently on the course.

    Allowing a player to keep using or to repair any damaged club, regardless of the nature or cause of the damage, will benefit players in several ways.
    • It will help players avoid the disqualification penalties that can arise today when a player hits a club against something in anger and then continues to use the club, not realizing that the shaft was slightly bent or some other damage had occurred.
    • The player will be able to choose whether to continue using that club in its damaged state or to use another club; whereas today, for example, a player who damages a putter in anger is not allowed to use it for the rest of the round (even if it is still in a usable form) and so ends up having to putt with a wedge or another club.


    Although there will be times when a damaged club is unusable and cannot be readily repaired on the course (such as when a driver head comes off), the practical ability to get a replacement club is seldom present other than at some elite levels of golf.

    This change will be consistent with the overall philosophy that a player normally should play the entire round with only the clubs that he or she started with or added during the round to get to the 14-club limit.





    Sounds like you could still put a new shaft in an adjustable hosel club. Even if you broke it in anger.
  • I_HATE_SNOWI_HATE_SNOW Members Posts: 3,228 ✭✭





    Should have had a spare shaft in the bag, swap it and hit it.




    Pretty sure that's illegal.


    Why? Replacing a damaged club is still legal. Spare shaft isn't a club. Should get around the 14 club rule, just don't try to change an unbroken shaft during the round.




    I don't think carrying spare parts to do on course repairs is legal.... I'll let the rules aficionados site the rule though.




    You are right, rule 4-3 a iii

    must not be made by borrowing any club selected for play by any other person playing on the course or by assembling components carried by or for the player during the stipulated round.



    Wonder if it will be legal next year as you are allowed to repair a club.
  • OutBackHackOutBackHack Members Posts: 902 ✭✭
    edited Nov 29, 2018 #57






    Should have had a spare shaft in the bag, swap it and hit it.




    Pretty sure that's illegal.


    Why? Replacing a damaged club is still legal. Spare shaft isn't a club. Should get around the 14 club rule, just don't try to change an unbroken shaft during the round.




    I don't think carrying spare parts to do on course repairs is legal.... I'll let the rules aficionados site the rule though.




    You are right, rule 4-3 a iii

    must not be made by borrowing any club selected for play by any other person playing on the course or by assembling components carried by or for the player during the stipulated round.



    Wonder if it will be legal next year as you are allowed to repair a club.






    Where I may have taken an educated guess at the rules around Sendo's club, I actually do know the rules and how it will work next year.



    If you break a club, no matter how, you cannot replace it until the end of the round. Period. (EDIT: unless its damaged by outside influence.)(which never happens really)

    If it is then a non-conforming club, you can still continue to use it for the remainder of THAT round only.

    At no point can you sub in a new club during that round.



    You can also carry non conforming clubs in your bag next year, as long as you don't use them. For example, you can have 14 clubs plus a practice putter that doesn't conform as long as you don't use that putter.
  • imakaveliimakaveli Moli Moli Moli Moli Tommy Tommy Tommy Tommy... Members Posts: 12,536 ClubWRX
    Rule may be weird in this situation but it makes sense, did he buy drinks as well? 😏
  • aussiebaussieb Lefty Boomers Posts: 808 ✭✭

    Valtiel wrote:


    John Senden WITB Google searches have likely tripled. :p




    This is the million dollar question - what was the shaft? Slow-mo is inconclusive, but the baby blue band is almost TPT'ish'...




    To answer the shaft question, it was a TPT shaft though I didn't catch the exact spec on it. And yes he can replace it during the round according to the rules due to it not being damaged in a deliberate manner contrary to an attempted golf swing (i.e. practice swings included)
    Ping G400 9*, Accra Tour Zx475 M5, 44.25" Epic SZ 15*, Accra Fx380 M5, 42.5" Ping G400 19*, GD DI-95X, 40.5" Srixon U65 18*, GD DI-105X, 40" Callaway Apex MB 4-P, Pro Modus 130X Calllaway MD Forged 52, 56, 60* Pro Modus Wedge 125 Toulon San Diego 33.5" 2017 Srixon XV
  • caniac6caniac6 Members Posts: 2,653 ✭✭
    I had the same thing happen with a steel shafted driver many years ago.
  • Pieter PPieter P Posts: 85 ✭✭
    seve1972 wrote:


    ....just in....John Senden admitted to buying that driver off of Ebay. If you listen to the caddie on the audio......."dude....this driver is a knock-off"...... true story.


    Happened to me a few years back,

    Got a driver shaft of eBay.

    Changed the adapter tip.

    First swing shaft snap under the grip. Two extensions put in. Looks like a cutdown 5 wood shaft extended to driver length.

    eBay sided with the seller, a I changed the club by exchanging the tip ...



    The seller is hopefully still shanking and missing 3 footers as I type :-)
2
Sign In or Register to comment.