Golf in Mexico - Riviera Maya

Riviera Maya, Cancun, Playa del Carmen, Akumal - Three courses I played.

Comments

• I_HATE_SNOWI_HATE_SNOW Members Posts: 3,279 ✭✭
    Cozumel Country Club, fantastic people there.
  • watershed8watershed8 Members Posts: 9
    My friend and I just played three courses in Riviera Maya, Mexico.

I decided on Moon Palace, Riviera Maya and Iberostar Parisio.

We used a Canadian online booking agency.

I've been visiting this area for more than ten years

Here are my thoughts on these three courses.

We played early each day and one thing to note is that all of these courses sent out twosomes and one time at moon palace we were backed up and decided to play with the twosome in front of us, which, after one hole, they came out and asked if we could continue in twos.

Also, even if you are the first off, doesn't mean your are in the free to zip around the track. They continually send twosomes off the back which is frustrating when you make the turn and all the sudden you're backed up.

Anyway, on to the reviews.

Moon palace was fantastic, great all inclusive with food stations every. The course maintenance was outstanding.

The layout was good, we played 27 holes. There were only a few holes that stood out though, not very interesting or dynamic. The greens were true but grabby. The ball just wasn't Rolling into the hole or breaking very much. Slow greens that were in good shape.

Riviera Maya was the prettiest course we played and the most stunning scenery. There were a few very memorable holes. This course wasn't in the best shape though. The greens were recently scissors and rolled so much that the dirt/mud was exposed but they did roll true, just didn't break, hard to read and tough to get a feel for the green. We did play the par three course after and it was fun and the greens were in much better shape.