Legacy

leezer99leezer99 I swear I am quitting this site every day...Members Posts: 1,122 ✭✭
Does anyone have info on whether or not having a legacy parent / grandparent helps in the college admissions process? Is there any reason to believe there's a benefit for playing college golf?

There's definitely something more important that I should be doing.

Comments

• BertGABertGA Members Posts: 303 ✭✭
    I think that depends on the school, how competitive their admissions are, etc. Heard a story from an acquaintance last week about her son, who despite having very good grades and test scores and being “legacy”, was not admitted to GA Tech. I think schools that can pick and choose care very little about where your grandfather attended.

I have no experience on the sports front, but as a parent I would be very unimpressed if I discovered the coach of the program where I sent my child selected someone based on legacy.
  • heavy_hitterheavy_hitter Members Posts: 3,153 ✭✭
    Not unless you are a superstar athlete or willing to give a huge endowment (cough cough bribe).
  • tiger1873tiger1873 Members Posts: 1,114 ✭✭
    If your parent/grandfather is a legacy depends what they did for the school. If you just attended the school I highly doubt they care about that. Unless of course there recruiting your kid they would probably bring it up.

If you are or your Father is a big donor or very important past tied to the school lets be honest your probably not really worried about college golf because you kids going to get into that school no matter what they do.
  • yellowlover519yellowlover519 Members Posts: 317 ✭✭
    I don’t think you understand how big of a donor you need to be for this to be relevant. I think if you’ve been a consistent donor and supporter it’s meaningful. To get into the school, yes. And the deviation from normal acceptance standards can’t be too off. For sports, I highly doubt legacy has any real bearing if your kid can’t be a potential playing player.