how should the neutral grip feel at address?

I've been playing golf off and on for a few years now, and have started to try and really learn now. I found out my grip was off recently, (i'm a righty) my left hand was weak too far left and the right was too far right (both thumbs down center shaft). Now im playing around with the new grip and I'm confused about how the club face should feel at address, because with this grip if i relax my wrist at all the club face immediately closes dramatically. I can see how this would be beneficially considering I've always had issue with slicing or fading shot out right, but wanted to know if I should be feeling a level of tension to keep the club face square at setup?

Comments

• PedronNiallPedronNiall Members Posts: 2,128 ✭✭
    Using both the super light grip that I do now or the stronger grip that I used to the club didn't change position after address. You should be able to set your grip with the club square before soleing it behind the ball, and even with a light grip your fingers in proper position, your hands, and the interaction of them with the grip especially when aided by a glove should keep it in place pretty well. It's possible that you could have something else like your hands too high or other elements putting the club in a weird position that causes it to want to not stay at a neutral rest point. It could also be your grip being off and your hands trying to set themselves properly.

As to how strong your grip should be that really depends on your actual swing. If you're setup correctly and you hit a fade then going stronger could be an easy way to add a slight draw bias.

Check out his other grip vids if those don't answer all your questions about the grip. Hope that helps.
  • cav5cav5 Members Posts: 333 ✭✭
    I like a moderate strong left and the right as on top as possible considering the location of the left thumb.
  • juststevejuststeve Members Posts: 4,788 ✭✭