2024 Houston Open WITB Photos ×

Why don't people take lessons ?

J2putts

I've been playing for 4 years. I started playing at 40 years old . I had a swing that made Charles Barkley look like Adam Scott the first 3 months I started . I decided to take lessons , found a great teacher and I haven't stopped taking lessons . For life of me I cant understand people who say " I've been playing for 30 years , I dont want a coach to screw me up ". As they proceed to hit banana slices all over the course . What are people afraid of when it comes to taking lessons???

• Replies 228
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Because a lesson may cost $50, whereas that new driver that promises lower scores costs $500. Wait, never mind.

Really, I think some people have a very fragile ego, and don't want to be told they are wrong, or are really self conscious about their game.

I've heard lots of new golfers say they want to get better first before taking a lesson, because they don't want to embarrass themselves in front of the Pro.

Walter: Tell me Bobby, why do you play this game?
Bobby: I play because I love it.
Walter: Well I play for the money. I have to win. That is why every time we face each other I will always beat you.

4 yrs as opposed to 30. That's 26 yrs swinging the club a certain way..

It's not a case of why people don't take them, it's a case of how long it will take to change 26 yrs of play.

I play off 5 and 3 yrs ago I decided to really make a go of getting as low as I can.

I'm only 44 and playing 10 yrs but it has taken me the last 3 with at least 18 lessons over those 3 yrs winter months to change a swing past.

I'm in no way comfortable on the course with hitting in to out and on the range with drills I can get a draw going but I can't trust it on the course.