Putting drill that seems to work well - may help you

getitdailygetitdaily Members Posts: 2,440 ✭✭
Some of you who frequent this site enough will know that putting has been my Achilles for a while. I believe I've turned the corner. That belief is based on the last 2 rounds played where I putted with feel of line and speed and nearly zero thought about stroke (other than smooth in the transition).

I do believe i stumbled onto a drill that may be of use to you other knuckleheads.

Azinger has a video where he talks about putting a golf ball between your lead wrist and the grip. That just felt awkward to me because I tend to have very little space there. I do, however, have a good bit of space between my training wrist and the grip.

I prefer a slight forward press to initiate the stroke. With that forward press I tend to get a bit wrist and lose a little face control.

So I started practicing with a golf ball between my grip and trail wrist. Makes such a difference keeping the face under control and really helps with the feel of a shoulder rocking stroke.

So try it out if you get wristy/ handsy. Maybe it'll help you.

Comments

• MysteryVMysteryV Members Posts: 337 ✭✭
    Can you share the video?

Also, are you choking up on the putter or does this only apply to folks with arm-lock style putters / left hand low grips? When I putt (standard grip), there's definitely no grip to place a ball between my lead wrist and the putter. Perhaps this applies to the trail wrist for standard grippers? Kinda like the putting cube?
    Driver: Ping G400 Max w/ Tensei PO
    3 Wood: Epic 3+ w/ GD AD-DI
    Irons: Miura CB-1008 w/ Oban CT-115
    Wedges: Miura Y Grind 51, Miura K Grind 56,60 w/ Modus Wedge
    Putter: Scotty Newport 2 - AOP Oval Track
  • MysteryVMysteryV Members Posts: 337 ✭✭
    BTW - not to hijack, but this article greatly improved my putting: http://www.golfwrx.com/481742/a-guide-secret-to-better-putting/