ANNOUNCEMENT:
Please have patience. We understand that this sucks and it will get MUCH better.

Link to full post HERE
Please add any bugs (problems) with new software in the Website Help Forum. There is a dedicated thread HERE.

Yoga... any questions?

clevelandphil24clevelandphil24 Members Posts: 32
edited February 22 in Instruction & Academy
Hello all,

My name is Phil. I am a yoga teacher in training and plan to focus my teaching career on yoga for golf, other sports, and general male fitness.

The majority of yoga practitioners in the US and Europe are female, and the majority of teachers are also female. This has created a bit of an imbalance which perpetuates itself... guys, especially masculine sports lover types, feel out of place in many yoga studios. Having a stranger rub essential oils on your neck does freak some people out... understandably. That is not my style.

My goal is to bridge this gap, and to do so by working with golfers and other professional athletes. My hope is that if guys on tour and in the NBA and NFL start practicing yoga, it will spread quickly into the general American male population. I know that many guys love yoga, and many pro athletes already practice yoga, but in my experience speaking with tour players and NBA athletes, it hasn't yet taken hold as much as I think it will in the next ten years.

I wanted to create this thread to answer your questions about yoga. I am a golf freak like most of you, but am also pretty entrenched in the yoga world. Hopefully I can answer your questions in a way that other yoga instructors could not. I can speak on yoga's role in injury prevention and rehab, the mental game, the full swing, etc. Ask me anything!
Post edited by Unknown User on
[font=georgia,serif]Trackman and yoga. Yoga and Trackman.[/font]

[font=times new roman,times,serif]Playing with 10 clubs right now.[/font]
[font=georgia,serif]TaylorMade Burner Superfast 2.0 (Diamana Ahina 75 X)[/font]