ANNOUNCEMENT:
Please have patience. We understand that this sucks and it will get MUCH better.

Link to full post HERE
Please add any bugs (problems) with new software in the Website Help Forum. There is a dedicated thread HERE.

Is there an ideal body type for golf?

What I mean are there ideal arm/leg/torso proportions? Has anybody compiled data? The tour of course is populated with all kinds of body types but as an amateur I'm thinking there is some benefit if you have a genetic leg up?

I'm characterized as a torso man, thanks to the old man. I top out at 6 foot. The rest of my family are all monsters in the 6 two to three and above range. I have shorter legs like at about a 32 inseam and the rest is torso and arms built for hauling suitcases!

When I do the wingspan drill I come in at 6 four which is an advantage for swimming but not so much for golf me thinks. When I take my stance with a little leg flex my arms are hanging pretty low which I believe forces me into a flatter swing.

When I choke down on the club I feel more free to swing and make better contact but I lose distance.

Is the wrist to floor measure a good method of base-lining club length because its a static exercise and doesn't account for dynamic action?

Just musing out loud...TGIF! Players weekend!

Comments

• CaddiesFaultCaddiesFault Golf Professional Advanced Members Posts: 775 ✭✭
    You see a lot more tall, lanky players on tour these days. Longer levers = longer shots. Id like to see some data on it too, but the tour is def getting taller.
    Callaway
  • hoselrockerhoselrocker Members Posts: 32

You see a lot more tall, lanky players on tour these days. Longer levers = longer shots. Id like to see some data on it too, but the tour is def getting taller.