Epic flash sub zero fairway = best fairway of 2019????

2»

Comments

• MobMob Just Another Lefty Members Posts: 3,466 ✭✭

I hit the Epic Flash Subzero 13.5 this past week at the Ely Callaway Performance Center and I was impressed. I tried the Hzrdus Smoke and the GC AD IZ shaft. The AD IZ had better dispersion for me. I have a Rogue Subzero 15 degree that I brought with me, and the EFSZ 3+ was clearly better not just in ball speed and distance, but dispersion as well. I do like the shape of this 3 wood as well. Can't wait for it to be delivered, but not sure how long that part takes.

Epic Flash Subzero with Synergy Black Proto 60TX shaft vs. Cobra F9 Tour length with Synergy Black Proto 65TX
    Callaway Epic Flash SZ 13.5 degree with GD Tour AD IZ 75 stiff
    Callaway Rogue 2 and 4 hybrid with GD Tour AD IZ 85 stiff hybrid shaft
    TM P790 5-A with Fujikura Pro 95i shaft stiff tour spec
    Callaway Forged 56 degree wedge and PM19 62 degree wedge
    TM Spider X Navy Blue 35 inch with white racing stripe
  • Dan DrakeDan Drake Members Posts: 1,963 ✭✭

It's the best one I've hit this year!

Ok, ok, it's the only 2019 fairway I've hit this year, but it's still the best one I've hit this year!
    (that joke works with my favorite 10 year old son, who happens to be my only 10 year old son, so it must work here as well, right?)

Epic Flash SZ 10.5° w/AD BB
    Epic Flash 15° w/Rogue Max
    X Forged UT 18° & 21° w/PX
    Apex Pro '19 5-A w/PX
    PM Grind 2.0 54° W w/PX & PM Grind 1.0 58° w/DG
    Toulon Austin
    171831.png

I just hit my EFSZ 3+ on the range today for the first time. I was impressed with this 3 wood. Sound and feel are good, much better than the driver. Ball flight was a high penetrating type of flight. The Graphite Design Tour AD IZ is a nice stable shaft and paired well with this head and my swing. I hope to get it on the course soon, but my initial impressions are that this could be a keeper.