Need a Great Bunker Club From Firm Sand

LowAndLeft32

In looking to find a wedge that is great from **_firm_** sand. I currently have 56* MD4 with low bounce and a 60* Vokey V grind. I don't hit either particularly well from the firm sand. I assume most of the problem lies in my technique, which Im working on. On the 56* I thought the low bounce would be good given the hard sand and wouldn't bounce into the ball. But, distance control and short bunker shots are difficult. My 60* is new so I'm still learning how to best use it. But so far, I cant seem to hit a good bunker shot with it. I would be interested in peoples thoughts on wedges and if a different club would see improved results. Thanks.

Paradym Triple Diamond 10.5*

FWIW, I generally will use the higher lofts (58/60) exclusively in the harder bunkers since squaring up looses a lot of loft (relatively speaking) - so I'm not surprised you might have issues with a 56* particularly for shorter shots. But I'm no bunker (or wedge) expert so maybe you'll get more useful advice from some others.

@"Stuart G." covered everything I was going to say.

Ping G430 LST 10.5* : Ventus Red TR 7S

Titleist TSR2 4W : Tensei 1K Black 85-S

Mizuno CLK 19*: Ventus Blue HB-8S

Srixon ZX Utility #4: Nippon Modus3 125-S

Wilson Staff CB 5-PW : Nippon Modus3 125-S

Cleveland Zipcore 50, 54, 58: Nippon Modus3 125-S 

Piretti Potenza 370g : Breakthrough Technology Stability Shaft - 34"

Callaway MD4 C or X grind. Problem solved

Titleist TSR3 8* / Fuji Ventus Black TR 6X               

Titleist TSR2+ / Fuji Ventus Black TR 7X               

Callaway UW / Fuji Ventu Black 8X

Edel SMS iron 4-5 / DG TI X100 /////  SMS PRO irons 6-PW / DG TI X100

Edel SMS 50V, 54T, 60T / DG TI S400/ BGT ZNE 130

Edel PROTO