19 Handicap-realistic goals?

physasstphysasst Rochester, MNMembers Posts: 54 ✭✭

Hi all, quick question, TL/DR, I used to play golf years ago in school. I was never great, after high school I think I got down to at best a 12 handicap. Then again, I did not really have money to work with a coach or pro to help me get better. Outside of some coaching in high school and a few lessons here and there, I was mostly self taught. So, now at the age of 48, I am wanting to take it more seriously. Over the past 6-7 years I have tried to improve my play, but usually with the same predictable results. This year I decided to go and work with a dedicated coach. I tend to hit a fade off the tee, but the last 2 years have a developed 2 way miss. Sometimes I am hitting a draw, sometimes I am hitting a fade, and sometimes it's a slice and sometimes it's a big duck hook. I actually gave a hitting driver for the last 3 years. I simply found playing a 3 wood was much easier, albeit shorter. With my new coach, and trackman, I found out that my swing path is actually quite good which surprised my new coach, however, my clubface is open somewhat on my backswing. Lot's of good, including great rotation and coil. Swingspeed is down...although I'm older. Last time I measured I was averaging 108 mph (10 years ago), now closer to 99-100, although I only feel like I'm swinging maybe 75%, mainly because I'm scared of where the **** the ball is going to go. Working on the clubface right now. I'm trying to practice at the range 3-4 days per week, and play 3-4 rounds per week (usually 2 nine hole par 3 rounds, and 1-2 18 hole weekend rounds). Which is WAY more than I've done in many years (golfing typically 2 times a month). I'm hoping to get down to single digit handicap this year....and maybe below 5 in 2 years. Is that at all realistic? Or am I setting myself up to be disappointed? Just curious what other middle aged golfers have found....

Srixzon z785 9.5*
Taylormade M1 3W 15*