First Time I Played 18 With Grandson

RSinSG ·  
RSinSGRSinSG St George, UT (Formerly Palm Springs, CA) 3345WRX Points: 418Handicap: 7.2ClubWRX Posts: 3,345 ClubWRX

He's 11 and we've gone to the range a few times but have never played a round before. He and his sis are here for the week and he brought his clubs so he could play with grandpa. We went to my course when it was fairly slow and had a great time. His dad has him well on his way to being a good golfer with proper etiquette, and he dresses for the part too. He had a couple of firsts today which was really fun for me to watch. He hit his longest drive yet at 222 and he had a par on a legit par 3 hole at 178 yards. Hit his driver to the front of the green, had a really nice PW chip and drained a 6 ft putt. He was pretty jacked up over that.

On 16 we caught up to another twosome who invited us to join them but I declined as I was having too much fun. He thinks I'm a pro now because I had a pretty good round at +3. I was happy he saw me play well instead of some of the clunker rounds I've been posting lately. Although in all honesty, I think he was probably more impressed that everything was comp (I work at the course) and he couldn't believe they just gave him a drink at the turn.

I've played with his dad and uncles a lot over the years but I think this was one of the more enjoyable rounds. Looking forward to the summer when he comes back.

Posted:
Ping G410 Tour AD DI S
Ping G30 3 wood, 5 wood
Ben Hogan VTKR 21* hybrid
Ping G400 Irons 5-SW, Steel Fiber i95
Ping Glide 60* LW
Scotty Cameron Studio Blade (or)
 Scotty CameronFastback
Gamegolf
https://www.ledges.com/ Home course

Comments

• noodle3872noodle3872 Chilliwack B.C. Canada 3153WRX Points: 541Handicap: 8.3Members Posts: 3,153 Titanium Tees

Awesome! Looks like it was a sparkling day for your first of many rounds with your grandson!

Posted:

Callaway Mavrik 9° driver Diamana ZF 50 S Flex

Callaway Mavrik SZ 10.5° driver Diamana ZF 50 S Flex