New LR E-12
This MUST be a joke...
“When taking Back-On-the-Line relief, there is no additional penalty if a player plays a ball that
was dropped in the relief area required by the relevant Rule (Rule 16.1c(2), 17.1d(2), 19.2b or
19.3b) but came to rest outside the relief area, so long as the ball, when played, is within one
club-length of where it first touched the ground when dropped.
This exemption from penalty applies even if the ball is played from nearer the hole than the
reference point (but not if played from nearer the hole than the spot of the original ball or the
estimated point where the ball last crossed the edge of the penalty area).
This Local Rule does not change the procedure for taking Back-On-the-Line relief under a
relevant Rule. This means that the reference point and relief area are not changed by this Local
Rule and that Rule 14.3c(2) can be applied by a player who drops a ball in the right way and it
comes to rest outside the relief area, whether this occurs on the first or second drop.” (Added
Honestly! Seven years of pondering and now RBs noticed this... sad sad sad...