Best Driver of 2019 | Full Article _HERE_ | Discussion Thread _HERE_

How many times can a person shoot 80 before breaking through? Arrrrghh!

124»

Comments

• trilinkrealtytrilinkrealty Members Posts: 24 ✭✭

Unfortunately it can happen quite a few times! I shot 80 on the number 7 times before I finally broke it for this year! Total mental thing, I would come in 6-6 7-6 9-7 after playing great all day, it was insane. Going much better second half of the year and been hitting the 70s more often than not. Also hit a new PR at 1 over for 18

• PulledabillPulledabill Members Posts: 373 ✭✭✭✭

Im 52 and been playing since I was a kid. I didnt play much from 2005 to 2016 as I was raising a daughter and didnt have the funds or time othe tan range balls or par 3 with my daughter.
    Shot 80 a dozen or more times . Missed many putts on for 79 many times.
    2017 I started playing again. Practicing with a purpose and set a goal to be single digits. My first full 18 I shot 79. Never touched 70s again in 2017. Started practicing more in the off season and by July 2018 I got to single digits with numerous rounds in the 70s.
    At 52 I dont let ego get to me. Play within myself, practice with a purpose, manage the course, and carry a mental eraser.
    Stick with it

• jonnymc44jonnymc44 Manchester UKMembers Posts: 164 ✭✭✭

@RainShadow said:

So in summary - Eliminating double bogies is the key to breaking 80.

Thus endeth the lesson.

Nearly always right... Here's my round from Saturday. Third hole massive slice into the trees, and did well with 3 off the tee to make 6. Tenth hole I was middle of the fairway with 140 in. Hit a poor iron shot that spun up off the bank in front of the bunker greenside and landed next to the front lip. Had to pitch out sideways, chipped on then went on to 3 putt.