I found a used set of P790's at Golf Galaxy yesterday so I grabbed a few balls and started hitting. Now I know these clubs are a little lower spinning due to the lofts, but I was getting spin rates in the low 4000's with the 7 iron. I grabbed a mizuno mp18 SC, my current gamer, and hit some shots and found the same result.

I definitely am a higher spin player. When I hit a green, my ball is rarely more than 5 feet from the pitch mark with my irons.

Have any of you seen this with launch monitors at Golf Galaxy? I don't want to say that they are rigging them, but I have a hard time believing they are accurate based on those iron shots.

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I started playing golf again last summer after 15 years. I went to golf galaxy to look for some new clubs, on their monitor it said my swing speed was about 110 and I was carrying 280 consistently with the driver. I never saw that on the course. Since then I've been back a few times trying different clubs and all of a sudden my SS is 100 and I'm carrying 245-250 (which is what I'm seeing on the course). Now, last summer I had not swung a club in probably 2 months when I decided to go shopping that day. Still to this day even when I'm swinging out of my shoes I can't hit 110 mph SS. Maybe they needed to recalibrate it...