GIVEAWAY: Vokey SM8 60* Wedge- ENTER HERE.

Central IL Golfers Den

Murphy76 ·  
Murphy76Murphy76 Members  188WRX Points: 231Posts: 188 Fairways

I reside in central IL near Champaign/Urbana. Any other locals wish to chime in on local courses and culture?

Remember, Steve Stricker is our patron saint...... B)

Posted:

Comments

• TheMagicStingerTheMagicStinger Members  889WRX Points: 191Posts: 889 Golden Tee

I'm over in blono. You ever make it this way?

Posted:
  • GolfWRXGolfWRX Warning Points: 0  11 Members Posts: 11 #ad

Advertisement
  • Murphy76Murphy76 Members  188WRX Points: 231Posts: 188 Fairways

Nope, not yet. any good courses over there?

Posted:
  • TheMagicStingerTheMagicStinger Members  889WRX Points: 191Posts: 889 Golden Tee

Sure, Weibring is solid.

The Den and Prairie Vista are fun as well.

If you ever make it this way on a weekday let me know! I just started playing again so I'm hyper inconsistent... But I'll play.

On -, @Murphy76 said:

Nope, not yet. any good courses over there?
    Posted:
  • cadoipicadoipi Members  111WRX Points: 91Posts: 111 Fairways

For early morning rounds I go to Lake of the Woods, for midday rounds I go to the U of I course, and for afternoons I go to Stone Creek. This is mainly due to when they have special rates. Stone Creek is by far the most interesting/challenging/maintained course of the three, but it is hard to say no to $20 rounds elsewhere. Without a rangefinder the U of I course can be frustrating, since there is no indicator for the depth of the pin location.

Posted:
  • jbrunkjbrunk Central IllinoisMembers  772WRX Points: 200Handicap: 11Posts: 772 Golden Tee

Checking in, I live in Bloomington and spent most of my summer on Ironwood & Weibring (ISU) in Normal. Both very well maintained this season. The new bunkers at ISU are pretty. I would travel to Champaign or Peoria, but there’s plenty here with five quality 18-hole public courses in town.

Posted:

Summer 2020 WITB