When did you actually become "good" at golf?

For the better players here (sub 5 maybe?) when did you actually become good / confident at golf?

I'm early 40s. Started golf at 30 about 12 years ago. Spent a lot of money on equipment for no reason. Had no idea what I was doing on the course.

Started figuring it out last year and this year I can finally say I know my swing, I play smart, I know my game and I'm down to a pretty low cap.

I can't really pin point what changed. It just happeneding seemingly overnight. I still can't putt but I'm working hard to figure it out.

2024 Bag TBD

When I was 16. I broke 80 for the first time at 13. By 16 I was a low single hdcp. It’s amazing how good you get when all you do all day is play golf.

• Like 1

Walter: Tell me Bobby, why do you play this game?
Bobby: I play because I love it.
Walter: Well I play for the money. I have to win. That is why every time we face each other I will always beat you.

I started playing at around 10 with my day, and was never more than a high school team golfer. Breaking 90 was a good day for me up until late 20's. Then I got a steady job, and started getting a season pass at a course in my town, and playing 60 or 70 rounds a year. Not having to plan golf and just going whenever. Playing all the time got me down to a single digit.

I'm not there yet. I'm an 8 right now but I _am_ playing a ton of golf right now and feel like I've evolved a lot in my perspective this year. Like the others, I had some initial luck with the game. I think I broke 80 within 3 years of starting out when I was in my early 20s. But that didn't mean I knew anything. I just played a lot and tried to manage the slice I had enough to keep it in play.

There are a slew of things I've grown to understand about playing well:

Learn to use the bounce on a wedge and the short game becomes 10x easier.

Don't ignore putting just because the long game is fun.

Try and ignore the urge to "work" the ball on every shot.