Where to stand when your opponent his hitting the ball on the fairway?

I am just getting into golf and was a little confused with this one,sorry if the answer is obvious.Was playing with a golfer yesterday that has played regularly for over 40 years,I was standing to his backside while he was addressing the ball on the fairway and he told me NEVER stand there when someone his hitting the ball because he can see me in his peripheral vision?He said always stand facing his chest,that way I’m out of his vision and never stand in line with the ball to his right either.I have no problem doing whatever he prefers,but is this common practice?When I golf with my other friends we usually stand 10 feet back in line with the ball to see the flight of it in case the hitter loses vision of it.

Comments

• Lefty96Lefty96 Members Posts: 213 ✭✭✭

Generally it is good form to stand either directly in front of the person (so the ball is between you and them, I think this is what he mean by facing his chest) or to stand behind their backside so that you are completely out of sight. You definitely shouldn’t stand in this line behind the ball. One little move in the middle of his swing can cause him to take his mind off the ball. It’s just good form to stand out of sight.

Callaway Rogue Subzero 9*/Hzrdus Yellow 6.5
    XR 16 15* 3w/fukijura 565 Stiff
    Adams Red 18*/Matrix altus Stiff
    4-PW 718 AP3/AMT tour white Stiff
    50* cleveland RTX 2.0 (10* bounce)
    56* cleveland RTX 2.0 (12* bounce)
    60* cleveland RTX 2.0 (6* bounce)
    Odyssey O-Works #9 with Garsen Ultimate grip
  • rogolfrogolf Members Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭✭✭✭✭

As a referee, I was told to stand where I could see his buttocks or his belt buckle.

• dvboydvboy Members Posts: 19 ✭✭
    edited Jul 16, 2019 1:56pm #4