2 Rules That Need To Be Enforced On Tour

1235»

Comments

  • GoGoErkyGoGoErky Members Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭✭✭✭

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @Ignatius Reilly said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:
    "I'm not putting the shaft in my belly or on my chest [as he demonstrates by pressing the top of the putter shaft on his belly and then on his chest], I actually have the thumb between the chest and the putter [as he presses his thumb onto his chest]..."

    That is exactly what he said. @Soloman1 Stop lying to yourself.

    You are reading more into it than he said, as your little add on shows.
    Yes, he says he has his thumb between the grip and his chest. He does not anchor said thumb to his chest. That part you made up. He has said many times that he anchors during the practice stroke to give him the feel he wants. He then moves that top hand away from his chest slightly.
    Is what Langer and McCarron and a few others do what the USGA had in mind when the rule was written? Probably not. But they are within the rules.

    I made nothing up. If you don't see with your own eyes what he does and hear what he says in the video, that is your bias.

    He said he has his thumb between the putter and his chest. He does not say it's touching his chest.

    He's made a video about how he uses a long putter and includes references to the rules. Do you really think he'd do that if he was actually anchoring? Why? The R&A would be forced to act, but they haven't. Because..... he's not breaking the rule.

    You really can’t be saying this and watching the video. He put the shaft on his chest then showed how the shaft is not on his chest because his thumb is between the shaft and his chest. And he visibly is touching his chest. The USGA and R&A don’t act because they don’t want to get sued by the equipment manufacturers. They would prefer to avoid the publicity of having to act on this.

    I watched the video and did not see him anchor it. You want it to fit your narrative and it’s not there

    His thumb is pressed on his chest. Clearly. Call it whatever you want.

    Viewed from your magic La-Z-Boy. Who knew it was endowed with powers unavailable to PGA Tour professional referees. Or, you're yet another know-nothing idiot.

    Do you think referees on the course are making this decision? Do you think you need to be a referee to see his thumb touching in the video? And you're calling someone else an idiot?

    Go watch the feherty episode from Monday with langer. He demonstrates what he does and it isn’t anchoring.

  • LICCLICC Members Posts: 893 ✭✭✭✭✭

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @Ignatius Reilly said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:
    "I'm not putting the shaft in my belly or on my chest [as he demonstrates by pressing the top of the putter shaft on his belly and then on his chest], I actually have the thumb between the chest and the putter [as he presses his thumb onto his chest]..."

    That is exactly what he said. @Soloman1 Stop lying to yourself.

    You are reading more into it than he said, as your little add on shows.
    Yes, he says he has his thumb between the grip and his chest. He does not anchor said thumb to his chest. That part you made up. He has said many times that he anchors during the practice stroke to give him the feel he wants. He then moves that top hand away from his chest slightly.
    Is what Langer and McCarron and a few others do what the USGA had in mind when the rule was written? Probably not. But they are within the rules.

    I made nothing up. If you don't see with your own eyes what he does and hear what he says in the video, that is your bias.

    He said he has his thumb between the putter and his chest. He does not say it's touching his chest.

    He's made a video about how he uses a long putter and includes references to the rules. Do you really think he'd do that if he was actually anchoring? Why? The R&A would be forced to act, but they haven't. Because..... he's not breaking the rule.

    You really can’t be saying this and watching the video. He put the shaft on his chest then showed how the shaft is not on his chest because his thumb is between the shaft and his chest. And he visibly is touching his chest. The USGA and R&A don’t act because they don’t want to get sued by the equipment manufacturers. They would prefer to avoid the publicity of having to act on this.

    I watched the video and did not see him anchor it. You want it to fit your narrative and it’s not there

    His thumb is pressed on his chest. Clearly. Call it whatever you want.

    Viewed from your magic La-Z-Boy. Who knew it was endowed with powers unavailable to PGA Tour professional referees. Or, you're yet another know-nothing idiot.

    Do you think referees on the course are making this decision? Do you think you need to be a referee to see his thumb touching in the video? And you're calling someone else an idiot?

    Go watch the feherty episode from Monday with langer. He demonstrates what he does and it isn’t anchoring.

    I just watched it. Eh. After his technique was publicly criticized, what else would he say? Regardless, he shouldn’t be allowed to keep his hand so close to his chest that at best you can’t tell if it is touching, and at worst you can see it’s touching

  • GoGoErkyGoGoErky Members Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭✭✭✭

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @Ignatius Reilly said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:
    "I'm not putting the shaft in my belly or on my chest [as he demonstrates by pressing the top of the putter shaft on his belly and then on his chest], I actually have the thumb between the chest and the putter [as he presses his thumb onto his chest]..."

    That is exactly what he said. @Soloman1 Stop lying to yourself.

    You are reading more into it than he said, as your little add on shows.
    Yes, he says he has his thumb between the grip and his chest. He does not anchor said thumb to his chest. That part you made up. He has said many times that he anchors during the practice stroke to give him the feel he wants. He then moves that top hand away from his chest slightly.
    Is what Langer and McCarron and a few others do what the USGA had in mind when the rule was written? Probably not. But they are within the rules.

    I made nothing up. If you don't see with your own eyes what he does and hear what he says in the video, that is your bias.

    He said he has his thumb between the putter and his chest. He does not say it's touching his chest.

    He's made a video about how he uses a long putter and includes references to the rules. Do you really think he'd do that if he was actually anchoring? Why? The R&A would be forced to act, but they haven't. Because..... he's not breaking the rule.

    You really can’t be saying this and watching the video. He put the shaft on his chest then showed how the shaft is not on his chest because his thumb is between the shaft and his chest. And he visibly is touching his chest. The USGA and R&A don’t act because they don’t want to get sued by the equipment manufacturers. They would prefer to avoid the publicity of having to act on this.

    I watched the video and did not see him anchor it. You want it to fit your narrative and it’s not there

    His thumb is pressed on his chest. Clearly. Call it whatever you want.

    Viewed from your magic La-Z-Boy. Who knew it was endowed with powers unavailable to PGA Tour professional referees. Or, you're yet another know-nothing idiot.

    Do you think referees on the course are making this decision? Do you think you need to be a referee to see his thumb touching in the video? And you're calling someone else an idiot?

    Go watch the feherty episode from Monday with langer. He demonstrates what he does and it isn’t anchoring.

    I just watched it. Eh. After his technique was publicly criticized, what else would he say? Regardless, he shouldn’t be allowed to keep his hand so close to his chest that at best you can’t tell if it is touching, and at worst you can see it’s touching

    Considering he explained what he’s doing is what he has done since the ban for anchoring was put in place he’s sating what he has been doing and it doesn’t sound like the criticism or questioning bothers him since he’s been cleared by the tour as not anchoring. The rule doesn’t state how far away it has to be from the chest as long as it’s not anchored to it.

  • ShilgyShilgy PhoenixMembers Posts: 11,837 ✭✭✭✭✭✭✭

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @Ignatius Reilly said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:
    "I'm not putting the shaft in my belly or on my chest [as he demonstrates by pressing the top of the putter shaft on his belly and then on his chest], I actually have the thumb between the chest and the putter [as he presses his thumb onto his chest]..."

    That is exactly what he said. @Soloman1 Stop lying to yourself.

    You are reading more into it than he said, as your little add on shows.
    Yes, he says he has his thumb between the grip and his chest. He does not anchor said thumb to his chest. That part you made up. He has said many times that he anchors during the practice stroke to give him the feel he wants. He then moves that top hand away from his chest slightly.
    Is what Langer and McCarron and a few others do what the USGA had in mind when the rule was written? Probably not. But they are within the rules.

    I made nothing up. If you don't see with your own eyes what he does and hear what he says in the video, that is your bias.

    He said he has his thumb between the putter and his chest. He does not say it's touching his chest.

    He's made a video about how he uses a long putter and includes references to the rules. Do you really think he'd do that if he was actually anchoring? Why? The R&A would be forced to act, but they haven't. Because..... he's not breaking the rule.

    You really can’t be saying this and watching the video. He put the shaft on his chest then showed how the shaft is not on his chest because his thumb is between the shaft and his chest. And he visibly is touching his chest. The USGA and R&A don’t act because they don’t want to get sued by the equipment manufacturers. They would prefer to avoid the publicity of having to act on this.

    I watched the video and did not see him anchor it. You want it to fit your narrative and it’s not there

    His thumb is pressed on his chest. Clearly. Call it whatever you want.

    Viewed from your magic La-Z-Boy. Who knew it was endowed with powers unavailable to PGA Tour professional referees. Or, you're yet another know-nothing idiot.

    Do you think referees on the course are making this decision? Do you think you need to be a referee to see his thumb touching in the video? And you're calling someone else an idiot?

    Go watch the feherty episode from Monday with langer. He demonstrates what he does and it isn’t anchoring.

    I just watched it. Eh. After his technique was publicly criticized, what else would he say? Regardless, he shouldn’t be allowed to keep his hand so close to his chest that at best you can’t tell if it is touching, and at worst you can see it’s touching

    When you are driving on the highway are you the guy in the left lane driving 55 in a 65 zone? So you do not give the impression of speeding? It is his job to make as many putts as possible while obeying the rules. And he does that.

    WITB
    Tools for the job!

    To paraphrase Dr Seuss: Don't cry because the round of golf is over-smile because it happened . :)

    Game is recovering from total ankle replacement. Getting there and glad to be pain free!
  • LICCLICC Members Posts: 893 ✭✭✭✭✭

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @Ignatius Reilly said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:
    "I'm not putting the shaft in my belly or on my chest [as he demonstrates by pressing the top of the putter shaft on his belly and then on his chest], I actually have the thumb between the chest and the putter [as he presses his thumb onto his chest]..."

    That is exactly what he said. @Soloman1 Stop lying to yourself.

    You are reading more into it than he said, as your little add on shows.
    Yes, he says he has his thumb between the grip and his chest. He does not anchor said thumb to his chest. That part you made up. He has said many times that he anchors during the practice stroke to give him the feel he wants. He then moves that top hand away from his chest slightly.
    Is what Langer and McCarron and a few others do what the USGA had in mind when the rule was written? Probably not. But they are within the rules.

    I made nothing up. If you don't see with your own eyes what he does and hear what he says in the video, that is your bias.

    He said he has his thumb between the putter and his chest. He does not say it's touching his chest.

    He's made a video about how he uses a long putter and includes references to the rules. Do you really think he'd do that if he was actually anchoring? Why? The R&A would be forced to act, but they haven't. Because..... he's not breaking the rule.

    You really can’t be saying this and watching the video. He put the shaft on his chest then showed how the shaft is not on his chest because his thumb is between the shaft and his chest. And he visibly is touching his chest. The USGA and R&A don’t act because they don’t want to get sued by the equipment manufacturers. They would prefer to avoid the publicity of having to act on this.

    I watched the video and did not see him anchor it. You want it to fit your narrative and it’s not there

    His thumb is pressed on his chest. Clearly. Call it whatever you want.

    Viewed from your magic La-Z-Boy. Who knew it was endowed with powers unavailable to PGA Tour professional referees. Or, you're yet another know-nothing idiot.

    Do you think referees on the course are making this decision? Do you think you need to be a referee to see his thumb touching in the video? And you're calling someone else an idiot?

    Go watch the feherty episode from Monday with langer. He demonstrates what he does and it isn’t anchoring.

    I just watched it. Eh. After his technique was publicly criticized, what else would he say? Regardless, he shouldn’t be allowed to keep his hand so close to his chest that at best you can’t tell if it is touching, and at worst you can see it’s touching

    When you are driving on the highway are you the guy in the left lane driving 55 in a 65 zone? So you do not give the impression of speeding? It is his job to make as many putts as possible while obeying the rules. And he does that.

    He is making a mockery of the rules and the spirit of the game. He should be making sure there is no contact whatsoever with his chest, his shirt, nothing, and that it is apparent to all.

  • GoGoErkyGoGoErky Members Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭✭✭✭

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @Ignatius Reilly said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:
    "I'm not putting the shaft in my belly or on my chest [as he demonstrates by pressing the top of the putter shaft on his belly and then on his chest], I actually have the thumb between the chest and the putter [as he presses his thumb onto his chest]..."

    That is exactly what he said. @Soloman1 Stop lying to yourself.

    You are reading more into it than he said, as your little add on shows.
    Yes, he says he has his thumb between the grip and his chest. He does not anchor said thumb to his chest. That part you made up. He has said many times that he anchors during the practice stroke to give him the feel he wants. He then moves that top hand away from his chest slightly.
    Is what Langer and McCarron and a few others do what the USGA had in mind when the rule was written? Probably not. But they are within the rules.

    I made nothing up. If you don't see with your own eyes what he does and hear what he says in the video, that is your bias.

    He said he has his thumb between the putter and his chest. He does not say it's touching his chest.

    He's made a video about how he uses a long putter and includes references to the rules. Do you really think he'd do that if he was actually anchoring? Why? The R&A would be forced to act, but they haven't. Because..... he's not breaking the rule.

    You really can’t be saying this and watching the video. He put the shaft on his chest then showed how the shaft is not on his chest because his thumb is between the shaft and his chest. And he visibly is touching his chest. The USGA and R&A don’t act because they don’t want to get sued by the equipment manufacturers. They would prefer to avoid the publicity of having to act on this.

    I watched the video and did not see him anchor it. You want it to fit your narrative and it’s not there

    His thumb is pressed on his chest. Clearly. Call it whatever you want.

    Viewed from your magic La-Z-Boy. Who knew it was endowed with powers unavailable to PGA Tour professional referees. Or, you're yet another know-nothing idiot.

    Do you think referees on the course are making this decision? Do you think you need to be a referee to see his thumb touching in the video? And you're calling someone else an idiot?

    Go watch the feherty episode from Monday with langer. He demonstrates what he does and it isn’t anchoring.

    I just watched it. Eh. After his technique was publicly criticized, what else would he say? Regardless, he shouldn’t be allowed to keep his hand so close to his chest that at best you can’t tell if it is touching, and at worst you can see it’s touching

    When you are driving on the highway are you the guy in the left lane driving 55 in a 65 zone? So you do not give the impression of speeding? It is his job to make as many putts as possible while obeying the rules. And he does that.

    He is making a mockery of the rules and the spirit of the game. He should be making sure there is no contact whatsoever with his chest, his shirt, nothing, and that it is apparent to all.

    You have an axe to grind with him...did he steal your lunch money or something?
    The only thing that matters is that he is making a stroke according to the rules and the tour has confirmed this so he’s good. You don’t like the way it looks don’t watch but to say he is making a mockery is a joke.

  • VindogVindog Don't order the schnitzel. They're using schnauzer! Members Posts: 17,657 ✭✭✭✭✭✭✭

    @gvogel said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @YoungJedi said:
    Allow range finders and 1/2 the problem is solved

    Even if they used rangefinders they would still need to know distance to back/front/bunker carry/backstop yardage etc.

    They could use the pin sheet to get those calculations.

    My thought on range finders is that it will be another thing the pros and caddies fumble with. Would it kill me if they were allowed? Of course not, but DMDs are not going to help the tours' slow players speeding up. The slow play "problem" on tour has little to do with getting yardages.

    run of the mill driver with stock shaft
    a couple of outdated hybrids
    shovel-ier shovels
    wedges from same shovel company
    some putter with a dead insert and
    a hideous grip
  • sui generissui generis Members Posts: 4,059 ✭✭✭✭✭✭✭

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @Ignatius Reilly said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:
    "I'm not putting the shaft in my belly or on my chest [as he demonstrates by pressing the top of the putter shaft on his belly and then on his chest], I actually have the thumb between the chest and the putter [as he presses his thumb onto his chest]..."

    That is exactly what he said. @Soloman1 Stop lying to yourself.

    You are reading more into it than he said, as your little add on shows.
    Yes, he says he has his thumb between the grip and his chest. He does not anchor said thumb to his chest. That part you made up. He has said many times that he anchors during the practice stroke to give him the feel he wants. He then moves that top hand away from his chest slightly.
    Is what Langer and McCarron and a few others do what the USGA had in mind when the rule was written? Probably not. But they are within the rules.

    I made nothing up. If you don't see with your own eyes what he does and hear what he says in the video, that is your bias.

    He said he has his thumb between the putter and his chest. He does not say it's touching his chest.

    He's made a video about how he uses a long putter and includes references to the rules. Do you really think he'd do that if he was actually anchoring? Why? The R&A would be forced to act, but they haven't. Because..... he's not breaking the rule.

    You really can’t be saying this and watching the video. He put the shaft on his chest then showed how the shaft is not on his chest because his thumb is between the shaft and his chest. And he visibly is touching his chest. The USGA and R&A don’t act because they don’t want to get sued by the equipment manufacturers. They would prefer to avoid the publicity of having to act on this.

    I watched the video and did not see him anchor it. You want it to fit your narrative and it’s not there

    His thumb is pressed on his chest. Clearly. Call it whatever you want.

    Viewed from your magic La-Z-Boy. Who knew it was endowed with powers unavailable to PGA Tour professional referees. Or, you're yet another know-nothing idiot.

    Do you think referees on the course are making this decision? Do you think you need to be a referee to see his thumb touching in the video? And you're calling someone else an idiot?

    Go watch the feherty episode from Monday with langer. He demonstrates what he does and it isn’t anchoring.

    I just watched it. Eh. After his technique was publicly criticized, what else would he say? Regardless, he shouldn’t be allowed to keep his hand so close to his chest that at best you can’t tell if it is touching, and at worst you can see it’s touching

    When you are driving on the highway are you the guy in the left lane driving 55 in a 65 zone? So you do not give the impression of speeding? It is his job to make as many putts as possible while obeying the rules. And he does that.

    He is making a mockery of the rules and the spirit of the game. He should be making sure there is no contact whatsoever with his chest, his shirt, nothing, and that it is apparent to all.

    Tell us what problem you are seeking to solve? The ruling bodies solved their "problem" with Rule 10. Players and golf administrators all get it and are fully compliant. Then there's you.

    Knowledge of the Rules is part of the applied skill set which a player must use to play a round of competitive golf.
  • LICCLICC Members Posts: 893 ✭✭✭✭✭

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @Ignatius Reilly said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:
    "I'm not putting the shaft in my belly or on my chest [as he demonstrates by pressing the top of the putter shaft on his belly and then on his chest], I actually have the thumb between the chest and the putter [as he presses his thumb onto his chest]..."

    That is exactly what he said. @Soloman1 Stop lying to yourself.

    You are reading more into it than he said, as your little add on shows.
    Yes, he says he has his thumb between the grip and his chest. He does not anchor said thumb to his chest. That part you made up. He has said many times that he anchors during the practice stroke to give him the feel he wants. He then moves that top hand away from his chest slightly.
    Is what Langer and McCarron and a few others do what the USGA had in mind when the rule was written? Probably not. But they are within the rules.

    I made nothing up. If you don't see with your own eyes what he does and hear what he says in the video, that is your bias.

    He said he has his thumb between the putter and his chest. He does not say it's touching his chest.

    He's made a video about how he uses a long putter and includes references to the rules. Do you really think he'd do that if he was actually anchoring? Why? The R&A would be forced to act, but they haven't. Because..... he's not breaking the rule.

    You really can’t be saying this and watching the video. He put the shaft on his chest then showed how the shaft is not on his chest because his thumb is between the shaft and his chest. And he visibly is touching his chest. The USGA and R&A don’t act because they don’t want to get sued by the equipment manufacturers. They would prefer to avoid the publicity of having to act on this.

    I watched the video and did not see him anchor it. You want it to fit your narrative and it’s not there

    His thumb is pressed on his chest. Clearly. Call it whatever you want.

    Viewed from your magic La-Z-Boy. Who knew it was endowed with powers unavailable to PGA Tour professional referees. Or, you're yet another know-nothing idiot.

    Do you think referees on the course are making this decision? Do you think you need to be a referee to see his thumb touching in the video? And you're calling someone else an idiot?

    Go watch the feherty episode from Monday with langer. He demonstrates what he does and it isn’t anchoring.

    I just watched it. Eh. After his technique was publicly criticized, what else would he say? Regardless, he shouldn’t be allowed to keep his hand so close to his chest that at best you can’t tell if it is touching, and at worst you can see it’s touching

    When you are driving on the highway are you the guy in the left lane driving 55 in a 65 zone? So you do not give the impression of speeding? It is his job to make as many putts as possible while obeying the rules. And he does that.

    He is making a mockery of the rules and the spirit of the game. He should be making sure there is no contact whatsoever with his chest, his shirt, nothing, and that it is apparent to all.

    Tell us what problem you are seeking to solve? The ruling bodies solved their "problem" with Rule 10. Players and golf administrators all get it and are fully compliant. Then there's you.

    Do you not know that it was other players complaining about it?

  • ThinkingPlusThinkingPlus South TexasClubWRX Posts: 1,725 ClubWRX

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @Ignatius Reilly said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:
    "I'm not putting the shaft in my belly or on my chest [as he demonstrates by pressing the top of the putter shaft on his belly and then on his chest], I actually have the thumb between the chest and the putter [as he presses his thumb onto his chest]..."

    That is exactly what he said. @Soloman1 Stop lying to yourself.

    You are reading more into it than he said, as your little add on shows.
    Yes, he says he has his thumb between the grip and his chest. He does not anchor said thumb to his chest. That part you made up. He has said many times that he anchors during the practice stroke to give him the feel he wants. He then moves that top hand away from his chest slightly.
    Is what Langer and McCarron and a few others do what the USGA had in mind when the rule was written? Probably not. But they are within the rules.

    I made nothing up. If you don't see with your own eyes what he does and hear what he says in the video, that is your bias.

    He said he has his thumb between the putter and his chest. He does not say it's touching his chest.

    He's made a video about how he uses a long putter and includes references to the rules. Do you really think he'd do that if he was actually anchoring? Why? The R&A would be forced to act, but they haven't. Because..... he's not breaking the rule.

    You really can’t be saying this and watching the video. He put the shaft on his chest then showed how the shaft is not on his chest because his thumb is between the shaft and his chest. And he visibly is touching his chest. The USGA and R&A don’t act because they don’t want to get sued by the equipment manufacturers. They would prefer to avoid the publicity of having to act on this.

    I watched the video and did not see him anchor it. You want it to fit your narrative and it’s not there

    His thumb is pressed on his chest. Clearly. Call it whatever you want.

    Viewed from your magic La-Z-Boy. Who knew it was endowed with powers unavailable to PGA Tour professional referees. Or, you're yet another know-nothing idiot.

    Do you think referees on the course are making this decision? Do you think you need to be a referee to see his thumb touching in the video? And you're calling someone else an idiot?

    Go watch the feherty episode from Monday with langer. He demonstrates what he does and it isn’t anchoring.

    I just watched it. Eh. After his technique was publicly criticized, what else would he say? Regardless, he shouldn’t be allowed to keep his hand so close to his chest that at best you can’t tell if it is touching, and at worst you can see it’s touching

    When you are driving on the highway are you the guy in the left lane driving 55 in a 65 zone? So you do not give the impression of speeding? It is his job to make as many putts as possible while obeying the rules. And he does that.

    He is making a mockery of the rules and the spirit of the game. He should be making sure there is no contact whatsoever with his chest, his shirt, nothing, and that it is apparent to all.

    Tell us what problem you are seeking to solve? The ruling bodies solved their "problem" with Rule 10. Players and golf administrators all get it and are fully compliant. Then there's you.

    Do you not know that it was other players complaining about it?

    Sour grapes and envy.

    Driver: Callaway GBB Epic 9° w/Project X HZRDUS T800 65 gm 6.0 flex
    3W: Callaway Rogue w/Project X Evenflow 5.5 Graphite R-flex
    Hybrids: Callaway Apex 3h, 4h w/MR Kuro Kage 80HY S-flex
    Irons: Maltby TS-1 5i-GW w/KBS Tour R-flex
    Sand Wedge: Titleist Vokey SM7 54/08 M Grind w/KBS Tour R-Flex
    Lob Wedge: Titleist Vokey SM6 58/04 L Grind w/TT Wedge Flex
    Putter: Scotty Cameron Futura X w/Super Stroke Claw 1.0
    Ball: Titleist AVX (wind) or ProV1X (tournaments) in yellow
  • VindogVindog Don't order the schnitzel. They're using schnauzer! Members Posts: 17,657 ✭✭✭✭✭✭✭

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @Ignatius Reilly said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:
    "I'm not putting the shaft in my belly or on my chest [as he demonstrates by pressing the top of the putter shaft on his belly and then on his chest], I actually have the thumb between the chest and the putter [as he presses his thumb onto his chest]..."

    That is exactly what he said. @Soloman1 Stop lying to yourself.

    You are reading more into it than he said, as your little add on shows.
    Yes, he says he has his thumb between the grip and his chest. He does not anchor said thumb to his chest. That part you made up. He has said many times that he anchors during the practice stroke to give him the feel he wants. He then moves that top hand away from his chest slightly.
    Is what Langer and McCarron and a few others do what the USGA had in mind when the rule was written? Probably not. But they are within the rules.

    I made nothing up. If you don't see with your own eyes what he does and hear what he says in the video, that is your bias.

    He said he has his thumb between the putter and his chest. He does not say it's touching his chest.

    He's made a video about how he uses a long putter and includes references to the rules. Do you really think he'd do that if he was actually anchoring? Why? The R&A would be forced to act, but they haven't. Because..... he's not breaking the rule.

    You really can’t be saying this and watching the video. He put the shaft on his chest then showed how the shaft is not on his chest because his thumb is between the shaft and his chest. And he visibly is touching his chest. The USGA and R&A don’t act because they don’t want to get sued by the equipment manufacturers. They would prefer to avoid the publicity of having to act on this.

    I watched the video and did not see him anchor it. You want it to fit your narrative and it’s not there

    His thumb is pressed on his chest. Clearly. Call it whatever you want.

    Viewed from your magic La-Z-Boy. Who knew it was endowed with powers unavailable to PGA Tour professional referees. Or, you're yet another know-nothing idiot.

    Do you think referees on the course are making this decision? Do you think you need to be a referee to see his thumb touching in the video? And you're calling someone else an idiot?

    Go watch the feherty episode from Monday with langer. He demonstrates what he does and it isn’t anchoring.

    I just watched it. Eh. After his technique was publicly criticized, what else would he say? Regardless, he shouldn’t be allowed to keep his hand so close to his chest that at best you can’t tell if it is touching, and at worst you can see it’s touching

    When you are driving on the highway are you the guy in the left lane driving 55 in a 65 zone? So you do not give the impression of speeding? It is his job to make as many putts as possible while obeying the rules. And he does that.

    He is making a mockery of the rules and the spirit of the game. He should be making sure there is no contact whatsoever with his chest, his shirt, nothing, and that it is apparent to all.

    Tell us what problem you are seeking to solve? The ruling bodies solved their "problem" with Rule 10. Players and golf administrators all get it and are fully compliant. Then there's you.

    Do you not know that it was other players complaining about it?

    I have not heard of any of his FC's (in his group) or markers confronting him on it, nor have I heard of any of his FC's or markers bringing it to the Rules officials attention. If they have, I wouldn't mind hearing about it.

    run of the mill driver with stock shaft
    a couple of outdated hybrids
    shovel-ier shovels
    wedges from same shovel company
    some putter with a dead insert and
    a hideous grip
  • LICCLICC Members Posts: 893 ✭✭✭✭✭

    @Vindog said:

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @Ignatius Reilly said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:
    "I'm not putting the shaft in my belly or on my chest [as he demonstrates by pressing the top of the putter shaft on his belly and then on his chest], I actually have the thumb between the chest and the putter [as he presses his thumb onto his chest]..."

    That is exactly what he said. @Soloman1 Stop lying to yourself.

    You are reading more into it than he said, as your little add on shows.
    Yes, he says he has his thumb between the grip and his chest. He does not anchor said thumb to his chest. That part you made up. He has said many times that he anchors during the practice stroke to give him the feel he wants. He then moves that top hand away from his chest slightly.
    Is what Langer and McCarron and a few others do what the USGA had in mind when the rule was written? Probably not. But they are within the rules.

    I made nothing up. If you don't see with your own eyes what he does and hear what he says in the video, that is your bias.

    He said he has his thumb between the putter and his chest. He does not say it's touching his chest.

    He's made a video about how he uses a long putter and includes references to the rules. Do you really think he'd do that if he was actually anchoring? Why? The R&A would be forced to act, but they haven't. Because..... he's not breaking the rule.

    You really can’t be saying this and watching the video. He put the shaft on his chest then showed how the shaft is not on his chest because his thumb is between the shaft and his chest. And he visibly is touching his chest. The USGA and R&A don’t act because they don’t want to get sued by the equipment manufacturers. They would prefer to avoid the publicity of having to act on this.

    I watched the video and did not see him anchor it. You want it to fit your narrative and it’s not there

    His thumb is pressed on his chest. Clearly. Call it whatever you want.

    Viewed from your magic La-Z-Boy. Who knew it was endowed with powers unavailable to PGA Tour professional referees. Or, you're yet another know-nothing idiot.

    Do you think referees on the course are making this decision? Do you think you need to be a referee to see his thumb touching in the video? And you're calling someone else an idiot?

    Go watch the feherty episode from Monday with langer. He demonstrates what he does and it isn’t anchoring.

    I just watched it. Eh. After his technique was publicly criticized, what else would he say? Regardless, he shouldn’t be allowed to keep his hand so close to his chest that at best you can’t tell if it is touching, and at worst you can see it’s touching

    When you are driving on the highway are you the guy in the left lane driving 55 in a 65 zone? So you do not give the impression of speeding? It is his job to make as many putts as possible while obeying the rules. And he does that.

    He is making a mockery of the rules and the spirit of the game. He should be making sure there is no contact whatsoever with his chest, his shirt, nothing, and that it is apparent to all.

    Tell us what problem you are seeking to solve? The ruling bodies solved their "problem" with Rule 10. Players and golf administrators all get it and are fully compliant. Then there's you.

    Do you not know that it was other players complaining about it?

    I have not heard of any of his FC's (in his group) or markers confronting him on it, nor have I heard of any of his FC's or markers bringing it to the Rules officials attention. If they have, I wouldn't mind hearing about it.

    “It was curious to me,” Chamblee said. He added that at least 10 PGA Tour Champions players had contacted him by phone or text message to express concern.

    “There is no shortage of players who are aghast,” Chamblee said. “I realized there was a great deal of animosity and suspicion, and it needed to be talked about.” ...

    “But at a players’ meeting in June, during the Principal Charity Classic in Iowa, Langer demonstrated his putting technique to his peers. It was an effort to quell the doubts, ...”

  • Ignatius ReillyIgnatius Reilly Members Posts: 441 ✭✭✭✭

    @Vindog said:

    @gvogel said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @YoungJedi said:
    Allow range finders and 1/2 the problem is solved

    Even if they used rangefinders they would still need to know distance to back/front/bunker carry/backstop yardage etc.

    They could use the pin sheet to get those calculations.

    My thought on range finders is that it will be another thing the pros and caddies fumble with. Would it kill me if they were allowed? Of course not, but DMDs are not going to help the tours' slow players speeding up. The slow play "problem" on tour has little to do with getting yardages.

    Agreed.

    Even once they know an exact yardage, there's still lots of time spent talking and thinking about where they want the ball to land (not in the cup, lol) how much spin or release they want, what the wind is doing, air temps/humidity/altitude effect on the shot...

    Most of the "problem" that a DMD would solve is in situations like we just saw where DeChambeau walked 70 yards up to the green and back. That only happens a couple of times in a tournament, and costs maybe a minute. It's not much of the problem, although it looks awful when it happens.

  • GoGoErkyGoGoErky Members Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭✭✭✭

    @LICC said:

    @Vindog said:

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @Ignatius Reilly said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:
    "I'm not putting the shaft in my belly or on my chest [as he demonstrates by pressing the top of the putter shaft on his belly and then on his chest], I actually have the thumb between the chest and the putter [as he presses his thumb onto his chest]..."

    That is exactly what he said. @Soloman1 Stop lying to yourself.

    You are reading more into it than he said, as your little add on shows.
    Yes, he says he has his thumb between the grip and his chest. He does not anchor said thumb to his chest. That part you made up. He has said many times that he anchors during the practice stroke to give him the feel he wants. He then moves that top hand away from his chest slightly.
    Is what Langer and McCarron and a few others do what the USGA had in mind when the rule was written? Probably not. But they are within the rules.

    I made nothing up. If you don't see with your own eyes what he does and hear what he says in the video, that is your bias.

    He said he has his thumb between the putter and his chest. He does not say it's touching his chest.

    He's made a video about how he uses a long putter and includes references to the rules. Do you really think he'd do that if he was actually anchoring? Why? The R&A would be forced to act, but they haven't. Because..... he's not breaking the rule.

    You really can’t be saying this and watching the video. He put the shaft on his chest then showed how the shaft is not on his chest because his thumb is between the shaft and his chest. And he visibly is touching his chest. The USGA and R&A don’t act because they don’t want to get sued by the equipment manufacturers. They would prefer to avoid the publicity of having to act on this.

    I watched the video and did not see him anchor it. You want it to fit your narrative and it’s not there

    His thumb is pressed on his chest. Clearly. Call it whatever you want.

    Viewed from your magic La-Z-Boy. Who knew it was endowed with powers unavailable to PGA Tour professional referees. Or, you're yet another know-nothing idiot.

    Do you think referees on the course are making this decision? Do you think you need to be a referee to see his thumb touching in the video? And you're calling someone else an idiot?

    Go watch the feherty episode from Monday with langer. He demonstrates what he does and it isn’t anchoring.

    I just watched it. Eh. After his technique was publicly criticized, what else would he say? Regardless, he shouldn’t be allowed to keep his hand so close to his chest that at best you can’t tell if it is touching, and at worst you can see it’s touching

    When you are driving on the highway are you the guy in the left lane driving 55 in a 65 zone? So you do not give the impression of speeding? It is his job to make as many putts as possible while obeying the rules. And he does that.

    He is making a mockery of the rules and the spirit of the game. He should be making sure there is no contact whatsoever with his chest, his shirt, nothing, and that it is apparent to all.

    Tell us what problem you are seeking to solve? The ruling bodies solved their "problem" with Rule 10. Players and golf administrators all get it and are fully compliant. Then there's you.

    Do you not know that it was other players complaining about it?

    I have not heard of any of his FC's (in his group) or markers confronting him on it, nor have I heard of any of his FC's or markers bringing it to the Rules officials attention. If they have, I wouldn't mind hearing about it.

    “It was curious to me,” Chamblee said. He added that at least 10 PGA Tour Champions players had contacted him by phone or text message to express concern.

    “There is no shortage of players who are aghast,” Chamblee said. “I realized there was a great deal of animosity and suspicion, and it needed to be talked about.” ...

    “But at a players’ meeting in June, during the Principal Charity Classic in Iowa, Langer demonstrated his putting technique to his peers. It was an effort to quell the doubts, ...”

    They had doubts, he showed them what he was doing, no more doubts and no cheating, so only you are left doubting his integrity and saying he is making a mockery of the game.

  • LICCLICC Members Posts: 893 ✭✭✭✭✭

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @Vindog said:

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @Ignatius Reilly said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:
    "I'm not putting the shaft in my belly or on my chest [as he demonstrates by pressing the top of the putter shaft on his belly and then on his chest], I actually have the thumb between the chest and the putter [as he presses his thumb onto his chest]..."

    That is exactly what he said. @Soloman1 Stop lying to yourself.

    You are reading more into it than he said, as your little add on shows.
    Yes, he says he has his thumb between the grip and his chest. He does not anchor said thumb to his chest. That part you made up. He has said many times that he anchors during the practice stroke to give him the feel he wants. He then moves that top hand away from his chest slightly.
    Is what Langer and McCarron and a few others do what the USGA had in mind when the rule was written? Probably not. But they are within the rules.

    I made nothing up. If you don't see with your own eyes what he does and hear what he says in the video, that is your bias.

    He said he has his thumb between the putter and his chest. He does not say it's touching his chest.

    He's made a video about how he uses a long putter and includes references to the rules. Do you really think he'd do that if he was actually anchoring? Why? The R&A would be forced to act, but they haven't. Because..... he's not breaking the rule.

    You really can’t be saying this and watching the video. He put the shaft on his chest then showed how the shaft is not on his chest because his thumb is between the shaft and his chest. And he visibly is touching his chest. The USGA and R&A don’t act because they don’t want to get sued by the equipment manufacturers. They would prefer to avoid the publicity of having to act on this.

    I watched the video and did not see him anchor it. You want it to fit your narrative and it’s not there

    His thumb is pressed on his chest. Clearly. Call it whatever you want.

    Viewed from your magic La-Z-Boy. Who knew it was endowed with powers unavailable to PGA Tour professional referees. Or, you're yet another know-nothing idiot.

    Do you think referees on the course are making this decision? Do you think you need to be a referee to see his thumb touching in the video? And you're calling someone else an idiot?

    Go watch the feherty episode from Monday with langer. He demonstrates what he does and it isn’t anchoring.

    I just watched it. Eh. After his technique was publicly criticized, what else would he say? Regardless, he shouldn’t be allowed to keep his hand so close to his chest that at best you can’t tell if it is touching, and at worst you can see it’s touching

    When you are driving on the highway are you the guy in the left lane driving 55 in a 65 zone? So you do not give the impression of speeding? It is his job to make as many putts as possible while obeying the rules. And he does that.

    He is making a mockery of the rules and the spirit of the game. He should be making sure there is no contact whatsoever with his chest, his shirt, nothing, and that it is apparent to all.

    Tell us what problem you are seeking to solve? The ruling bodies solved their "problem" with Rule 10. Players and golf administrators all get it and are fully compliant. Then there's you.

    Do you not know that it was other players complaining about it?

    I have not heard of any of his FC's (in his group) or markers confronting him on it, nor have I heard of any of his FC's or markers bringing it to the Rules officials attention. If they have, I wouldn't mind hearing about it.

    “It was curious to me,” Chamblee said. He added that at least 10 PGA Tour Champions players had contacted him by phone or text message to express concern.

    “There is no shortage of players who are aghast,” Chamblee said. “I realized there was a great deal of animosity and suspicion, and it needed to be talked about.” ...

    “But at a players’ meeting in June, during the Principal Charity Classic in Iowa, Langer demonstrated his putting technique to his peers. It was an effort to quell the doubts, ...”

    They had doubts, he showed them what he was doing, no more doubts and no cheating, so only you are left doubting his integrity and saying he is making a mockery of the game.

    I didn’t know you had the ability to read the minds of Champions Tour players ...

  • BlackDiamondPar5BlackDiamondPar5 Members Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited Aug 15, 2019 12:59pm #137

    Looks like a usual suspect found a new topic to Troll or at minimum be an obstinate contrarian and be argumentative with everyone.

  • GoGoErkyGoGoErky Members Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭✭✭✭

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @Vindog said:

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @Ignatius Reilly said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:
    "I'm not putting the shaft in my belly or on my chest [as he demonstrates by pressing the top of the putter shaft on his belly and then on his chest], I actually have the thumb between the chest and the putter [as he presses his thumb onto his chest]..."

    That is exactly what he said. @Soloman1 Stop lying to yourself.

    You are reading more into it than he said, as your little add on shows.
    Yes, he says he has his thumb between the grip and his chest. He does not anchor said thumb to his chest. That part you made up. He has said many times that he anchors during the practice stroke to give him the feel he wants. He then moves that top hand away from his chest slightly.
    Is what Langer and McCarron and a few others do what the USGA had in mind when the rule was written? Probably not. But they are within the rules.

    I made nothing up. If you don't see with your own eyes what he does and hear what he says in the video, that is your bias.

    He said he has his thumb between the putter and his chest. He does not say it's touching his chest.

    He's made a video about how he uses a long putter and includes references to the rules. Do you really think he'd do that if he was actually anchoring? Why? The R&A would be forced to act, but they haven't. Because..... he's not breaking the rule.

    You really can’t be saying this and watching the video. He put the shaft on his chest then showed how the shaft is not on his chest because his thumb is between the shaft and his chest. And he visibly is touching his chest. The USGA and R&A don’t act because they don’t want to get sued by the equipment manufacturers. They would prefer to avoid the publicity of having to act on this.

    I watched the video and did not see him anchor it. You want it to fit your narrative and it’s not there

    His thumb is pressed on his chest. Clearly. Call it whatever you want.

    Viewed from your magic La-Z-Boy. Who knew it was endowed with powers unavailable to PGA Tour professional referees. Or, you're yet another know-nothing idiot.

    Do you think referees on the course are making this decision? Do you think you need to be a referee to see his thumb touching in the video? And you're calling someone else an idiot?

    Go watch the feherty episode from Monday with langer. He demonstrates what he does and it isn’t anchoring.

    I just watched it. Eh. After his technique was publicly criticized, what else would he say? Regardless, he shouldn’t be allowed to keep his hand so close to his chest that at best you can’t tell if it is touching, and at worst you can see it’s touching

    When you are driving on the highway are you the guy in the left lane driving 55 in a 65 zone? So you do not give the impression of speeding? It is his job to make as many putts as possible while obeying the rules. And he does that.

    He is making a mockery of the rules and the spirit of the game. He should be making sure there is no contact whatsoever with his chest, his shirt, nothing, and that it is apparent to all.

    Tell us what problem you are seeking to solve? The ruling bodies solved their "problem" with Rule 10. Players and golf administrators all get it and are fully compliant. Then there's you.

    Do you not know that it was other players complaining about it?

    I have not heard of any of his FC's (in his group) or markers confronting him on it, nor have I heard of any of his FC's or markers bringing it to the Rules officials attention. If they have, I wouldn't mind hearing about it.

    “It was curious to me,” Chamblee said. He added that at least 10 PGA Tour Champions players had contacted him by phone or text message to express concern.

    “There is no shortage of players who are aghast,” Chamblee said. “I realized there was a great deal of animosity and suspicion, and it needed to be talked about.” ...

    “But at a players’ meeting in June, during the Principal Charity Classic in Iowa, Langer demonstrated his putting technique to his peers. It was an effort to quell the doubts, ...”

    They had doubts, he showed them what he was doing, no more doubts and no cheating, so only you are left doubting his integrity and saying he is making a mockery of the game.

    I didn’t know you had the ability to read the minds of Champions Tour players ...

    Considering it’s not a topic of discussion on tour or golf channel or any of the mentioned players raising the issue to the rules committee it’s a safe bet their concerns were addressed and unlike you they’ve moved on

  • LICCLICC Members Posts: 893 ✭✭✭✭✭

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @Vindog said:

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @Ignatius Reilly said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:
    "I'm not putting the shaft in my belly or on my chest [as he demonstrates by pressing the top of the putter shaft on his belly and then on his chest], I actually have the thumb between the chest and the putter [as he presses his thumb onto his chest]..."

    That is exactly what he said. @Soloman1 Stop lying to yourself.

    You are reading more into it than he said, as your little add on shows.
    Yes, he says he has his thumb between the grip and his chest. He does not anchor said thumb to his chest. That part you made up. He has said many times that he anchors during the practice stroke to give him the feel he wants. He then moves that top hand away from his chest slightly.
    Is what Langer and McCarron and a few others do what the USGA had in mind when the rule was written? Probably not. But they are within the rules.

    I made nothing up. If you don't see with your own eyes what he does and hear what he says in the video, that is your bias.

    He said he has his thumb between the putter and his chest. He does not say it's touching his chest.

    He's made a video about how he uses a long putter and includes references to the rules. Do you really think he'd do that if he was actually anchoring? Why? The R&A would be forced to act, but they haven't. Because..... he's not breaking the rule.

    You really can’t be saying this and watching the video. He put the shaft on his chest then showed how the shaft is not on his chest because his thumb is between the shaft and his chest. And he visibly is touching his chest. The USGA and R&A don’t act because they don’t want to get sued by the equipment manufacturers. They would prefer to avoid the publicity of having to act on this.

    I watched the video and did not see him anchor it. You want it to fit your narrative and it’s not there

    His thumb is pressed on his chest. Clearly. Call it whatever you want.

    Viewed from your magic La-Z-Boy. Who knew it was endowed with powers unavailable to PGA Tour professional referees. Or, you're yet another know-nothing idiot.

    Do you think referees on the course are making this decision? Do you think you need to be a referee to see his thumb touching in the video? And you're calling someone else an idiot?

    Go watch the feherty episode from Monday with langer. He demonstrates what he does and it isn’t anchoring.

    I just watched it. Eh. After his technique was publicly criticized, what else would he say? Regardless, he shouldn’t be allowed to keep his hand so close to his chest that at best you can’t tell if it is touching, and at worst you can see it’s touching

    When you are driving on the highway are you the guy in the left lane driving 55 in a 65 zone? So you do not give the impression of speeding? It is his job to make as many putts as possible while obeying the rules. And he does that.

    He is making a mockery of the rules and the spirit of the game. He should be making sure there is no contact whatsoever with his chest, his shirt, nothing, and that it is apparent to all.

    Tell us what problem you are seeking to solve? The ruling bodies solved their "problem" with Rule 10. Players and golf administrators all get it and are fully compliant. Then there's you.

    Do you not know that it was other players complaining about it?

    I have not heard of any of his FC's (in his group) or markers confronting him on it, nor have I heard of any of his FC's or markers bringing it to the Rules officials attention. If they have, I wouldn't mind hearing about it.

    “It was curious to me,” Chamblee said. He added that at least 10 PGA Tour Champions players had contacted him by phone or text message to express concern.

    “There is no shortage of players who are aghast,” Chamblee said. “I realized there was a great deal of animosity and suspicion, and it needed to be talked about.” ...

    “But at a players’ meeting in June, during the Principal Charity Classic in Iowa, Langer demonstrated his putting technique to his peers. It was an effort to quell the doubts, ...”

    They had doubts, he showed them what he was doing, no more doubts and no cheating, so only you are left doubting his integrity and saying he is making a mockery of the game.

    I didn’t know you had the ability to read the minds of Champions Tour players ...

    Considering it’s not a topic of discussion on tour or golf channel or any of the mentioned players raising the issue to the rules committee it’s a safe bet their concerns were addressed and unlike you they’ve moved on

    Or they realize that after raising it and the Tour looking the other way, it serves no further purpose to bring it up anymore.

  • sui generissui generis Members Posts: 4,059 ✭✭✭✭✭✭✭

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @Vindog said:

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @Ignatius Reilly said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:
    "I'm not putting the shaft in my belly or on my chest [as he demonstrates by pressing the top of the putter shaft on his belly and then on his chest], I actually have the thumb between the chest and the putter [as he presses his thumb onto his chest]..."

    That is exactly what he said. @Soloman1 Stop lying to yourself.

    You are reading more into it than he said, as your little add on shows.
    Yes, he says he has his thumb between the grip and his chest. He does not anchor said thumb to his chest. That part you made up. He has said many times that he anchors during the practice stroke to give him the feel he wants. He then moves that top hand away from his chest slightly.
    Is what Langer and McCarron and a few others do what the USGA had in mind when the rule was written? Probably not. But they are within the rules.

    I made nothing up. If you don't see with your own eyes what he does and hear what he says in the video, that is your bias.

    He said he has his thumb between the putter and his chest. He does not say it's touching his chest.

    He's made a video about how he uses a long putter and includes references to the rules. Do you really think he'd do that if he was actually anchoring? Why? The R&A would be forced to act, but they haven't. Because..... he's not breaking the rule.

    You really can’t be saying this and watching the video. He put the shaft on his chest then showed how the shaft is not on his chest because his thumb is between the shaft and his chest. And he visibly is touching his chest. The USGA and R&A don’t act because they don’t want to get sued by the equipment manufacturers. They would prefer to avoid the publicity of having to act on this.

    I watched the video and did not see him anchor it. You want it to fit your narrative and it’s not there

    His thumb is pressed on his chest. Clearly. Call it whatever you want.

    Viewed from your magic La-Z-Boy. Who knew it was endowed with powers unavailable to PGA Tour professional referees. Or, you're yet another know-nothing idiot.

    Do you think referees on the course are making this decision? Do you think you need to be a referee to see his thumb touching in the video? And you're calling someone else an idiot?

    Go watch the feherty episode from Monday with langer. He demonstrates what he does and it isn’t anchoring.

    I just watched it. Eh. After his technique was publicly criticized, what else would he say? Regardless, he shouldn’t be allowed to keep his hand so close to his chest that at best you can’t tell if it is touching, and at worst you can see it’s touching

    When you are driving on the highway are you the guy in the left lane driving 55 in a 65 zone? So you do not give the impression of speeding? It is his job to make as many putts as possible while obeying the rules. And he does that.

    He is making a mockery of the rules and the spirit of the game. He should be making sure there is no contact whatsoever with his chest, his shirt, nothing, and that it is apparent to all.

    Tell us what problem you are seeking to solve? The ruling bodies solved their "problem" with Rule 10. Players and golf administrators all get it and are fully compliant. Then there's you.

    Do you not know that it was other players complaining about it?

    I have not heard of any of his FC's (in his group) or markers confronting him on it, nor have I heard of any of his FC's or markers bringing it to the Rules officials attention. If they have, I wouldn't mind hearing about it.

    “It was curious to me,” Chamblee said. He added that at least 10 PGA Tour Champions players had contacted him by phone or text message to express concern.

    “There is no shortage of players who are aghast,” Chamblee said. “I realized there was a great deal of animosity and suspicion, and it needed to be talked about.” ...

    “But at a players’ meeting in June, during the Principal Charity Classic in Iowa, Langer demonstrated his putting technique to his peers. It was an effort to quell the doubts, ...”

    They had doubts, he showed them what he was doing, no more doubts and no cheating, so only you are left doubting his integrity and saying he is making a mockery of the game.

    I didn’t know you had the ability to read the minds of Champions Tour players ...

    Considering it’s not a topic of discussion on tour or golf channel or any of the mentioned players raising the issue to the rules committee it’s a safe bet their concerns were addressed and unlike you they’ve moved on

    Or they realize that after raising it and the Tour looking the other way, it serves no further purpose to bring it up anymore.

    Yeah, that's probably the case. So, you win. Now go away and bother someone else with your delusions. (Hint, here's one. Look out your window. The Earth must be flat. Right? Go run with that for the next fifty years.)

    Knowledge of the Rules is part of the applied skill set which a player must use to play a round of competitive golf.
  • GoGoErkyGoGoErky Members Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭✭✭✭

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @Vindog said:

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @sui generis said:

    @LICC said:

    @GoGoErky said:

    @LICC said:

    @Ignatius Reilly said:

    @LICC said:

    @Shilgy said:

    @LICC said:
    "I'm not putting the shaft in my belly or on my chest [as he demonstrates by pressing the top of the putter shaft on his belly and then on his chest], I actually have the thumb between the chest and the putter [as he presses his thumb onto his chest]..."

    That is exactly what he said. @Soloman1 Stop lying to yourself.

    You are reading more into it than he said, as your little add on shows.
    Yes, he says he has his thumb between the grip and his chest. He does not anchor said thumb to his chest. That part you made up. He has said many times that he anchors during the practice stroke to give him the feel he wants. He then moves that top hand away from his chest slightly.
    Is what Langer and McCarron and a few others do what the USGA had in mind when the rule was written? Probably not. But they are within the rules.

    I made nothing up. If you don't see with your own eyes what he does and hear what he says in the video, that is your bias.

    He said he has his thumb between the putter and his chest. He does not say it's touching his chest.

    He's made a video about how he uses a long putter and includes references to the rules. Do you really think he'd do that if he was actually anchoring? Why? The R&A would be forced to act, but they haven't. Because..... he's not breaking the rule.

    You really can’t be saying this and watching the video. He put the shaft on his chest then showed how the shaft is not on his chest because his thumb is between the shaft and his chest. And he visibly is touching his chest. The USGA and R&A don’t act because they don’t want to get sued by the equipment manufacturers. They would prefer to avoid the publicity of having to act on this.

    I watched the video and did not see him anchor it. You want it to fit your narrative and it’s not there

    His thumb is pressed on his chest. Clearly. Call it whatever you want.

    Viewed from your magic La-Z-Boy. Who knew it was endowed with powers unavailable to PGA Tour professional referees. Or, you're yet another know-nothing idiot.

    Do you think referees on the course are making this decision? Do you think you need to be a referee to see his thumb touching in the video? And you're calling someone else an idiot?

    Go watch the feherty episode from Monday with langer. He demonstrates what he does and it isn’t anchoring.

    I just watched it. Eh. After his technique was publicly criticized, what else would he say? Regardless, he shouldn’t be allowed to keep his hand so close to his chest that at best you can’t tell if it is touching, and at worst you can see it’s touching

    When you are driving on the highway are you the guy in the left lane driving 55 in a 65 zone? So you do not give the impression of speeding? It is his job to make as many putts as possible while obeying the rules. And he does that.

    He is making a mockery of the rules and the spirit of the game. He should be making sure there is no contact whatsoever with his chest, his shirt, nothing, and that it is apparent to all.

    Tell us what problem you are seeking to solve? The ruling bodies solved their "problem" with Rule 10. Players and golf administrators all get it and are fully compliant. Then there's you.

    Do you not know that it was other players complaining about it?

    I have not heard of any of his FC's (in his group) or markers confronting him on it, nor have I heard of any of his FC's or markers bringing it to the Rules officials attention. If they have, I wouldn't mind hearing about it.

    “It was curious to me,” Chamblee said. He added that at least 10 PGA Tour Champions players had contacted him by phone or text message to express concern.

    “There is no shortage of players who are aghast,” Chamblee said. “I realized there was a great deal of animosity and suspicion, and it needed to be talked about.” ...

    “But at a players’ meeting in June, during the Principal Charity Classic in Iowa, Langer demonstrated his putting technique to his peers. It was an effort to quell the doubts, ...”

    They had doubts, he showed them what he was doing, no more doubts and no cheating, so only you are left doubting his integrity and saying he is making a mockery of the game.

    I didn’t know you had the ability to read the minds of Champions Tour players ...

    Considering it’s not a topic of discussion on tour or golf channel or any of the mentioned players raising the issue to the rules committee it’s a safe bet their concerns were addressed and unlike you they’ve moved on

    Or they realize that after raising it and the Tour looking the other way, it serves no further purpose to bring it up anymore.

    That’s it. They are tired of accusing him and the tour not doing anything.

Sign In or Register to comment.