I played my first two rounds of golf and I really enjoyed it!

Lookout!Lookout! Members Posts: 18 ✭✭

Hi everyone,

While I started to learn golf last October, I had not been out on the course yet this year (bad first instructor, busy at work, busy at home, and partly being scared of the course, etc). On Thursday night, I finally signed up for a tee time at a local Par 3. I would be playing from the most forward tees (2032 yards over 9 holes). I had fun, I wasn't too frustrated with myself because I knew I am still learning.

I had some reasonably good shots and some really bad shots but I figured that everyone does. My driver off the first tee sliced so hard it ended up on the #9 fairway. The next one went straighter but I never found it. However it got better. A 3 wood drive from the tee block landed on the green on the next hole, which was very empowering to see (I 3 putted in the end but oh well). Some of my wedge shots/putts were screwy because either I hit them way too hard or not hard enough. Just comes with experience I guess. Full disclosure for the putts, I used a 3 foot gimme circle around the hole just to keep moving (even though there was no one behind me). There was a group of 3 older gentlemen in front of me that I caught up to at about hole #7 ish but I didn't mind too much since there was no one behind me and it was only nine holes. My total time of play was about an hour and 30 (maybe a little less).

I ended up with somewhere in between a 49 and 54 (not sure if I included the extra stroke for each lost ball I had, do not completely remember to be honest). I was probably closer to 55. When I lost a ball, I would add an extra stroke to the hole (please let me know if official scoring should be different). I only lost 5 balls which I think is pretty good for a beginner.