Best Driver of 2019 | Full Article _HERE_ | Discussion Thread _HERE_

Wedge and bounce opinions

fullio21fullio21 Members Posts: 8 ✭✭

Hey, All. Noob here when it comes to wedges, so any input is welcome. I've decided it's time to replace my wedges (Ping Tour-W 52/12 and 56/10 both black dot) and upon doing some research, I feel like I've opened a can of worms with regard to bounce.

I am looking to go with a 50 and 54 degree set up because there's too much of a gap between my W and 52 degree. I am very much a picker and rarely make a divot. Also, I'm a relatively fairweather golfer and won't play in the rain if I can help it. Lastly, I primarily use my 52 for 100 yards and in as well as around the green, unless I don't have much green to work with. In that case, I'll break out the 56 as well as for sand shots.

So with that, any ideas with regard to bounce? Should I stick with the 12 for my 50 and 10 with my 54?

Much appreciated.

Tagged:

Comments

• gwelfgulfergwelfgulfer OnteribleMembers Posts: 264 ✭✭✭✭

You'll be fine with lower bounce in your GW for sure being a picker/fair weather golfer. Mid bounce in SW will be fine unless you have deep/fluffy sand and very thick rough around the greens. Next rabbit hole will be grinds, but don't over think that.

Custom Hoofer Lite Bag:
    Driver - Taylormade R510 TP 9.5* w/ Di6X (black)
    Woods - Taylormade V-Steel 3/5 w/ 80X Kai'Li
    Hybrid - Adams Pro VST 20* w/ DG TI X100
    Irons - Taylormade 300 Forged 4-PW w/ Rifle 6.0
    Wedges - Cleveland 588 RTG 53/58 w/ DG TI S400
    Putter - Yes! Abbie Forged 33"

• jbrunkjbrunk Central IllinoisMembers Posts: 647 ✭✭✭✭✭

I’d stick with the 56° and just bump up the gap to 50°. No need to change the trajectory & spin around the green that you’re used to. Flopping a 54° short sided or out of a steep bunker...rarely ends well for recreational golfers like us. If you’re dead set on 4° gaps, go 50-54 add a 58° for those terminal situations.