Best Driver of 2019 | Full Article _HERE_ | Discussion Thread _HERE_

New or Used?

avgjoe88avgjoe88 Members Posts: 5

I've been golfing for a couple of years now. I have been using a used set of Strata clubs I picked up at a pawn shop, because I didn't know if it was going to be something I wanted to continue with. All told, I fell in love with the game and can't get enough of it. I bought a new/used driver over the summer that I absolutely love. I am, however, wanting to buy a new set of clubs. I am a high handicap golfer, so I don't want to drop a ton of money on the latest and greatest manufacturers have to offer. Are there any opinions out there on what I should be looking for? New? Used? Brand? Should I spend the money and get fitted? Or should I just stick with the Stratas because that it was I am used to playing with? Thanks in advance!

Comments

• 2bGood2bGood Members Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭✭✭✭✭

USED 1000%

If you are a new golfer and you love the game you will burn through a few sets of iron as your swing develops and you understand what type of club you like/suits you. If you but the right used clubs, you will be able to flip the with little to no loss when it is time to upgrade/change.

If it turns out you don't like golf, then you will have much cheaper set of clubs sitting in the closet.

I been a scratch golfer, played for about 20 years now spend lots of money on golf and I buy used irons (not hard to find 'like new' clubs.

• MahamiltoMahamilto NYCMembers Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭✭✭✭

The BST on here is THE PLACE to buy clubs. My bag + clubs would have been about 3600 if I bought everything new at retail. I have a few clubs I did get new, and still spent under 2k bag included. The BST here is just amazing, and I have had the opportunity to try so many things and resell for good returns.

Titleist TS3 - 9.75* - HZRDUS Smoke Black 6.5 (C1 Setting, STD Fade)
    Titleist U510 1-iron - HZRDUS Smoke Black 6.5
    Titleist 716 T-MB 3 and 4-iron - KBS C-Taper 130x