2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

How to let go of a really bad round of golf. Any advice? I just had one for the first time this year

Irishman1979

Here's a little background on myself. I recently started playing Golf again after a 15 year layoff, and 17 years from playing competitively on the mini tours in Florida and around the country. Played in numerous PGA and Buy.com tour qualifiers (Now known as the Web.com) when I was in my early 20's. I never ever stepped up on a tee box without believing I was the best player in the field. It was not uncommon for me especially during the winter down in Florida to find out I was paired with someone who had a card on the PGA Tour or Buy.com at some point. When I would step on the first tee with them I felt like I belonged. Now lets fast forward 17 years later and I'm 40. This year I bought a membership and I got my USGA handicap currently down to a 0.3.

Now lets talk about two days ago and the nightmare that took place. I hit some balls on the range, everything is going fine. Hitting the ball like I normally due, getting loose, starting with my wedges and then moving through the rest of my bag. Its time to tee off so I make my way over the first tee on a beautiful fall day. I stand behind the ball, take a couple practice swings, pick my target and line and then........ Cold topped it! I end up making bogey on the first and move onto the second. I tell myself "Thats golf, suck it up and move on." As I step up on the tee I stick to my same routine. The course's tee boxes had been recently top dressed due to the course being aerated so I felt it was hard to build a solid foundation due to feeling through my feet that there was a possibility of slipping. So for the first time all year long, I cold topped another one off the tee.