2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

Help me pick a new ball

jpbova

I have been playing the MTB-X for a couple of months now. It is a good ball and long. It just spins too much for me. I play my best when I can keep the driver in the fairway, and I would like to limit my misses as much as possible. I also don't need the ball sucking back on the green. I took a look at the Q-star because that had some pretty low spin readings in testing, but I got confused when they said for moderate swing speeds. I also took a look at the BX and BRX, but Bridgestone's ball lineup confuses me. Basically, I am just confused. I wouldn't rule out playing a Surlyn ball.

My Driver Swing Speed - 110 -115 MPH

Ball trajectory - Very High

My miss - Block or fade slice right that comes from not releasing the club or not keeping my lower body quiet.

Normal ball flight - Draw

Gunga Galunga Golf - Golf Photography

You sure it’s the ball and not your swing? That’s a low spinning ball off the driver and the longest, allegedly, through the MGS tests.

TP5x is long. Tour BX. Volviks go yard, too. Do some research and some testing yourself. Get sleeves of balls and just play play play. We all have our favorites and those are normally the ones that we get our best scores with.

You swing a touch faster than me but here are some suggestions:

I personally play the Srixon Z Star XV and I like it a lot. Lower spinning, long off the tee, and pretty good short game spin. Srixon also has a couple really good sales every now and then so it definitely helps the wallet. Used to play Bridgestone Tour BX and that is also another great ball. TaylorMade TP5X also had some good reviews. For me, TP5X is longer with the irons. Good ball but not what I was looking for. Hope that helps. Good luck on your search.

Driver: PING G410 LST, Ping Tour 65X

3 Wood: PING G400, Project x EvenFlow Blue 75 6.5

3 Hybrid: PING G410, Ping Tour 85 X

Irons: Mizuno MP-5 (4-PW), Dynamic Gold X100