2024 Houston Open WITB Photos ×

Golf in decline: Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail

As someone who lives in Alabama, within 10 minutes of two of the RTJ courses (Oxmoor Valley and Ross Bridge) I can say that they are very nice courses...however, they just don't hold up versus some of the more economical options in the metro Birmingham area (Bent Brook, Timberline, and Ballantrae right off hand). Then you exacerbate the fact that several of the courses are in rural areas that simply can't sustain that level of course cost ($75+ for a round) and it is a recipe for disaster post 2007 bubble burst. My son and I will go play the Par 3 course at Oxmoor for $25 but there are just better options for 18 holes of golf in the Birmingham area. Definitely not dropping the $125 for Ross Bridge. Also, it is very troubling for me since I am a teacher and my retirement is dependent on the RSA.

• Like 1

It's sad to say the least. I've played 'em all and some are better than others. Silver Lakes is my favorite on the Trail as IMHO they have the best greens although The Judge at Capitol Hill is the best of the lot. I hope they find a way to save a few of the good ones.

The answer to better golf is hit it better, farther, and make more putts.

It seems like they went about this with half-measures. If they wanted to make destination courses that would attract people from around the country, using RTJ and Rulewich for every course wasn't going to do it. If they wanted to focus on local play, then locating the courses near populated areas and designing them to keep costs lower was necessary. What they did was something in the middle, which seemingly isn't working very well.

I've read the article twice now and IMHO it's pretty sloppy reporting.