Hard pull (video)

billdz ·  
billdzbilldz Members  1WRX Points: 0Posts: 1 Starters

I've been playing for 40 years and have hit the ball pretty consistently, but in the past few months I've picked up a horrible 30 degree left pull. I'll sometimes hit this 3 or 4 times per round and it often results in a lost ball. The first attachment shows this pull swing (I am not yet able to attach videos or links).

In this sequence, I see that my swing is flat and my head moves away from the ball on the downswing, and the ball hits the club face much too close to the shaft (probably a shank if I had hit an iron), but all in all I don't see (or feel) much difference between the pull swing and my decent swing. The second attachment video shows my "normal" swing.

Any thoughts on how to get rid of the nasty pull?

Thanks for any input,

Bill 

Posted:

Comments

• tthomasgolfer605tthomasgolfer605 Members  103WRX Points: 57Handicap: ProPosts: 103 Fairways

Make sure the camera is set at hand height right down that alignment stick first. Hard to diagnose with that camera angle. From that angle it looks your shoulders turn a bit too flat causing you to get crossed up. Unless you're very patient with the transition you can get stuck or come over it. Shoot the proper angle though.

Posted:
  • GolfWRXGolfWRX Warning Points: 0  11 Members Posts: 11 #ad

Advertisement
  • robrey85robrey85 Gamblers Bonus Las VegasMembers  2205WRX Points: 114Handicap: 6.3Posts: 2,205 Platinum Tees

Hard to see without video, though in the, “pull” sequence, the face looks like it is pointing left of left. The straight looks like it is relatively straight. What’s the ball flight doing? Is it starting left and then going further left? If so, then the club path is right of the club face, which would explain what I am seeing. If that is the case, just hold off the face a touch through impact.

Posted:
    wrx_sig.png?dl=0
  • laneholtlaneholt Members  734WRX Points: 100Posts: 734 Golden Tee

Billdz,