2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

Any golf course closures across the country due to the COVID-19 pandemic? Doing some research...

[MOD EDIT] Keep responses golf related and on topic. No politics, Coronavirus discussions, ... Otherwise, we will be force to shut this down.

Hey all in WRX land!

I am a PGA Professional at a 9-Hole municipal golf course in MN. With everything that has been developing, basically at light speed, for this COVID-19 pandemic, it is very difficult to get any good/real information. Since a lot of you are probably self isolating due to the pandemic, you probably have some time to help me out!

I am doing some very informal research for my Board of Directors on what is going on out in the world, outside the bubble that is my golf course. My question is this.... How many, if any, golf courses have either temporarily closed, or have decided to delay opening for the season, because of this COVID-19 pandemic? (I know that some of the public courses in the Chicago area have closed, because of the pandemic, and the bars and restaurants have also closed to in-house dining, relying on take out.)

My take on things is that golf is actually a great distraction and activity during all of these times. It helps with some social separation (to a degree), gives some fresh air to people playing, and some sun! All that being said, for those courses which ARE still open, what are you doing, or have seen done, at those respective courses in regards to how golf carts are handled? Pro Shop counter for check-in, food service, drink service, etc... etc... etc...

Any help (constructive help) will be, and is, greatly appreciated on this subject.

These are very unforeseen times! Be safe, prudent, and very careful!!

Thanks in advance!!

I agree on your take.