2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

Can you use existing irons to make a single length set?

J295

The simple answer is no becausethe weighting of the clubheads is different with OL irons. The heads of the long irons will be heavier than a traditional iron and the heads of the short irons are usually lighter to compensate for the the longer or shorter shafts of traditional length irons.

But this has to be done correctly and proportionately to get correct gapping. Just throwing weight anywhere on a club will not work because moving the weight around can change the flight characteristics.

• Like 1

I'm far from an expert, but I believe it comes down to the heads. In a SL set, the manufacturers have to manipulate the weight, COG, etc to get ideal launch and spins numbers.

In other words, say for example Cobra, they don't just cut all the shafts the same length and use the same heads. There are 2 different heads for the regular and the SL.

Hopefully someone will be along shortly that is more knowledgeable.

Edit: See above, haha I'm too slow

• Like 1

Head weight is the main consideration.

I do my own club building and my most recent set utilizes MP -18 MMC 5-PW and other off the shelf L-S-G wedges

My L-S-G-PW are SL at 36.25”. I had to drill out the hosels in my L and S to reduce head weight to get my desired SW.

I then go in 1/4” increments in my 9, 8, 7 with my 7 being at 37.0”. These swing weighted fine with typical shaft weights.

My 6, 5, 4 are SL at 37.25” which has the 5 with a max 10g tip weight. I wanted to go shorter on the 6, 5, 4 all at 37.0” but didn’t want to resort to lead tape.

Also, different shafts have different SW consequences, so you don’t know what you can achieve until you start. Head weights also have much more variance than the expected 7g per head.

WITB for 2023  |  Titleist Hybrid-5 Stand Bag
Titleist TSi2 10*  |  Miyazaki Kusala Black 61X

Titleist TSR1 20* & 26* Hybrids  |  Evenflow White 90S

Edel SMS Pro 5-PW |  Steelfiber i110cw-S