How much will COVID affect junior golf?

On the one hand, travel for tournaments will be significantly curtailed due to transmission concerns, and diminished finances will curb unbridled spending on lessons, training and development.

On the other hand, golf is the ultimate social distancing sport. Perhaps some athletes from affected team sports will transfer over to golf due to lower transmission risk, providing some new competition.

Thoughts?

I am no expert, but personally I am inclined to think that once this clears most people will get back to doing what they do - golf, soccer, football, whatever. Maybe in the next year there will be a slight decrease in other sports, but I think most people are very predictable and will fall back into whatever life/activities they had before. Certainly finances will be effected , but I think people put a high priority on spending money on their kids sports pursuits. Chasing the dream wont stop for most. It was a topic on a podcast I recently heard, might of been @mattwalterpga podcast - a veteran teaching pro's advice to a young pro was to specialize on teaching juniors and high level aspiring pro's......both more "recession proof" than the casual weekend golfer or beginner. My 2 cents, we'll see.

I tend to agree with this, mostly. Golf as a third or fourth sport may see a decline, but for those who have kids swinging clubs several time per week--it's hard to see that changing.

Golf as a new sport for kids, perhaps that takes a hit due to finances.

Will some kids get used clubs this year instead of the latest USKG offerings? You bet, and other corners like brand new balls vs reconditioned are also low-hanging fruit.

Semi-related, has anyone else seen the push cart selection evaporate over the last three weeks? It's reaching Bounty paper towel level.

All I can say is last time we seen a economic downturn it hurt all of golf.