2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

Three Wedge Set Up

Seantanner97

Hope everyone is safe and for those without golf, that you are managing.

I am looking to change my set up and thought now was the best time to tinker. I have a 58 degree lob wedge which I never use (maybe once or twice a round) and I was thinking of going to a wedge set up of 48, 52 and 56. So my question is which bounce and grind would be best in most models? I've been playing SM6s and I have found myself to prefer a straighter leading edge, with my current wedges having around 10 degrees of bounce in the M grind.

Also looking to bring in a U500 three iron.

Thanks in advance guys!

I have played this setup for a few years. The PW in my set is 48 degrees and I rounded out my bag with a 52-56. that being said I found myself using my 56 exclusively from 100 and in and not hitting my 52 much at all. MAYBE once a round if the yardage came up. I originally went to this setup bc I felt like I got too cute with my 60 and it cost me shots. But I’m a better golfer now and I think I’m missing something not having a lob wedge.

All that said I have a 54 and 60 on the way and going to give that setup a shot. I figure the 54 will replace my 56 for most of my straight forward shots and the 60 will be used when I’m short sided. Not getting rid of my 52-56 bc it doesn’t work out I’ll go back.

I recently switched from a four wedge set up (46, 50, 54, 58) to a three wedge set up (46 52 58).

My 50 was seeing very little use, and I had too big of a gap between my 4 hybrid and 5 iron. Replacing my 50 and 54 with a 52 let me put my 4 iron back in the bag, and I seem to be able to cover all my short game yardages just as good with three wedges as I could with four.

• Like 1

Titleist TSR3 (10) - Project X HZRDUS 4G 6.0
Titleist 917 F2 16.5 at C1 (15.75) - Project X HZRDUS Smoke Black 70 5.5
Titleist TSR2 21 at C3 (22) - Project X HZRDUS Red CB  70 6.0
Titleist T150 5i-GW - Nippon 950 GH R - I up