2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

Index vs. Golf Ball Cork Sniffery

BeerPerHole

OK, I went form an 18 to a 12. I am curious the opinions on something. Where about, in terms of index, does ball start to matter? It's an odd question, I know. But, a 25 would not take advantage of a ProV vs a plastic rock ball, I'm thinking. I, at my level of play, like various types of balls because (in my mind) the standard deviation in my swing is more of an influence of outcome than compression or cover material. Does that make sense? I notice that I tend to gravitate toward the firm urethane balls (XV, MTB-X) because I like how they come off the clubface, especially the driver. But, in general, is there an index range where it starts to matter? I recently read of a member of this forum who's a low single-digit and plays very non-tour models - even wins club championships with them. Oh...and "cork sniffer" is an old term I learned back when I was a practicing musician...guys who worry about what part of South America the wood of their Les Paul came from, etc...

BY FAR, the most important thing is to play the same ball all the time, whatever the construction. BY FAR...

That said, and with all due respect, I think you are asking the wrong question. Rather than looking for some sort of a cutoff for a playing level where the ball "matters", turn it around and look at it the other way. It's implied in your question that three or four piece urethane ball is at least somewhat better, or good players wouldn't play 'em, right? So the real question isn't whether the lesser player can fully employ the benefits of a premium ball, but rather, "Is a lesser player capable of overcoming the inconsistencies of a cheaper, two piece golf ball?"