Handicap Deflation Issues

Guest AJ399

I've noticed that my handicap doesn't usually travel well to short, tight courses. I'm a 0.6 currently but my home course is 7,200 yards and has a course rating of over 75 (my average score is around 79). I'm a somewhat long driver (SS 116, Carry 290) so the length doesn't provide any real challenge for me. In addition most holes on my home course have one side you can miss on off the tee and still be in play, which is huge for me because on off days I can be quite erratic off the tee. When I play "easier" golf courses I can have a good day off the tee and shoot around 74 (CR around 72) but if I'm spraying it a round in the 80's is in the cards. Another factor that makes my home couse easier for me to score on is that there are 5 par 5's, four of which are under 570 and thus reachable in two. Today, for example, I hit driver-7i and made eagle on 18 for a 77. Do any of you guys have a similar issue to this?

My home course is Crandon Golf at Key Biscayne btw.

I know what you mean. There's a course around here that I always say is a handicap reduction guarantee for me.

Its 7100yds with trouble all down the left (I couldn't miss left if I tried) and straightforward greens.

Some courses just suit you, sounds like your home course is perfect for you

Srixon ZX5 w/PX Hzrdus Red 60

Srixon ZX 15 w/PX Hzrdus Red 70

Tour Edge C723 21* w/PX hzrdus black 80

Titleist T150 4-AW w/PX LZ 6.0

Titleist Jet Black 54/60 with PX LZ 6.0

Deschamps Crisp Antique 

Part of the problem is the course rating system places an overly heavy (IMO) weighting on length. Additionally the adjustments for obstacles, etc are (again IMO) too subjective.

Ping G430 LST 10.5* : Ventus Red TR 7S

Titleist TSR2 4W : Tensei 1K Black 85-S

Mizuno CLK 19*: Ventus Blue HB-8S

Srixon ZX Utility #4: Nippon Modus3 125-S

Wilson Staff CB 5-PW : Nippon Modus3 125-S

Cleveland Zipcore 50, 54, 58: Nippon Modus3 125-S