Is my equipment good enough?

I had my first meeting with my high school golf team the other day, and as a Freshman I didnt know what to expect. When I got there at the range, I thought Id definetely be the worst player there. All the returning kids shoot low to mid 70's. I usually average a 78 for 18 holes. I noticed every kid on the team played some type of forged muscleback blade iron. I have been playing Ping i5's for a while now and they do OK for me.

I was talking to the captain(a senior) who is going to play D1 college golf next year, and he asked if I was trying to earn a college scholarship and when I told him that I would like to he basically laughed in my face. He said that I would never develop a good enough swing using those "shovels" as he called them. At first I ignored it but then other kids told me the same thing. I even had the coach ask me why I felt the need to play a club that is more about forgiveness. He asked if I lacked ambition to practice?

I am very dissapointed as I couldnt wait to start with these guys as I just moved here and couldnt tryout for the team at the beginning of the year, but now Im not sure if I even want to go back. I talked to my dad and although he doesnt play golf, he told me that if its important to me he would try his best to get me some new irons. I appreciate it very much, but is it necessary? Is the team right? Will I always have to rely on a forgiving club as I wont know how good I strike the ball? Will my swing get sloppy as I wont need to strike the ball well to get a good shot, as they said? Please help! Also should I go back or just wait till next year?

• Replies 74
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic