The cult of Cameron...

staunty

I hadn't touched a club for about 13 years until I started playing again last year. Obviously a lot has changed. Balata balls and the Cleveland VAS irons were new-ish when I had last played. So what is the deal with the Scotty Cameron putters? No, I have not tried one but it seems to me many people use one more from a status standpoint - to be able to say they have a Cameron.

Has anyone switched from a different manufacturer and noticed a difference in their putting? Has anyone dropped their putting average significantly? I am not knocking anyone who uses them but I want to know if they are THAT much better? I did see that he went to my High School though...thats pretty cool.

• Replies 88
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

No -- Cameron is not better than other high end putters. But they do look good and they are fine putters.

Cameron mania was at its peak a couple of years ago. It's a nice putter if it fits you. But peak through the forums and if you know what you want, you can find a putter that is more customized to what you think you need at a similar price.

Father, Wannabe Golfer, Novelist

• Ping G430 Max 9/TPT 19Hi Golf Shaft @45 in. (coming soon)
  • Ping G430 3 wd/TPT 19 Hi
  • Callaway Paradym 18/ TPT Golf 18 Hi
  • Ping G430 4H/TPT Golf
  • Ping i230 5-PW Recoil Dart 90
  • Artisan 50, 55, 59 or Ping Glide Forged Pro, Both with Nippon 105 
  • Putter:  LAB DF3 TPT Shaft (waiting)
  • Vessel Bag
  • ProV1x
  • Ping ChipR in messy or no turf conditions

I own Scotty Cameron putters. I also own a Ping, an Odyssey or two, and a Never Compromise. I personally prefer the Camerons. They look great, are well balanced, and I prefer the crisp feel at impact.