Beginner Help

Eazy_B97

Driver and Hybrids
Hello All,
I've browsed around the site in the past and have read a few tidbits and the site seems very helpful. I just started playing regularly last summer. I'm out about twice every 3 weeks playing a full round, and usually on the driving range 1-2 a week as well. This is all during the summer, Winters are "off time" due to school and other restrictions. My girlfriend bought me some gift certificates to be spent on a Golf instructor, so I am definately hoping to improve my game a bit. I bought some clubs last year, and am fairly happy with them, but would like to upgrade in a few spots. In total, I bought

- Wilson Fatboy II 9* Driver
- Ram RX3 Irons
- Tour Smooth Temp Hybrid 16* w/ Bi-Matrix shaft
- 60* Paradise Black Chrome

I am relatively happy with the irons, and after reading alot of review sites, understand that these are very forgiving. At this point, I'm not a very good golfer (easily in the 100s) and fairly eratic on the course. During the middle of the season, I started to hit my driver really well, but had a fair bit of a "slice" on it. I am roughly 5'11, 210lbs, and was getting 275-290 on my drives when I connected (roughly 80% of the time). I've been told my drives are line-drives, where there aren't alot of height, but decent distance. After playing with some much better golfers, I noticed they had a much higher trajectory and I am wondering if the degree is my problem. I know that the Taylor Made "r" line has some weights, which supposedly help this, would they be a good option? I've looked into the Cobra SZ 440/460 drivers a little bit and the r7. I love the look of the Callaway Fusion, but am not sure if it's the right club for me.

The hybrid has given me alot of trouble, and I've never felt comfortable with it. I got it in the last 1/4 of the season and my game really fell-off at this point.