How quickly did you get a hang of golf?

Faub78

Hey everyone, i just ran across the website earlier today have proceed to spend the last couple hours reading through the forums!

So, I decided one day this July that I was interested in playing golf and borrowed some clubs from my dad and went out to hit at a driving range. I couldn't hit a 7 iron 100 yards, but I was bit by the golf bug and I got addicted. I proceed to play or practice nearly every day for the rest of the summer as soon as I would get done at work. With school starting in mid august and still working I didnt get a chance to play again until this Christmas break.

In total I have played or practice maybe somewhere around 60 days but I think I am seeing a ton of success for just starting. I shot a solid 85 most times I go out and play from the whites (men regular). All of this is either what I naturally do or self taught by reading a few magazines. I hit my 7 iron 165 yds, driver 275. My big fault is that I hit maybe 4 greens in regulation but again I literally just started playing and I am kind of excited when I play against guys who have been playing for years and I am not that much worse than them.

How does this stack up to everyone else when they first picked up golf? Is picking it up this fast and naturally normal or may I have something here the I could capitalize on with some real practice?

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

You caught on to the game pretty quickly. Now that you have the distance, you really need to work on just becoming more accurate, this may mean to smooth out your swing. The other HUGE thing to work on is short game. I am 15 and pratice everyday for 3 to 4 hours a day, and I wish I figured out 2 years ago how much the short game meant. If you and feel comfortable with most chips from around the greens and make a majority of your 8 foot putts you will see your scores fall!!!!!!

Welcome to the site!