2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

Does anyone know of shops dropping Titleist balls?

daveduval23

I'm thinking of it due to lack of margin
I'm a professional in England and I'm thinking of dropping Titleist golf balls from my shop. You have to buy so many to get on the best deals, and even then you make next to no margin on Prov1s.

I can imagine some of my members may not like not having Titleist balls on offer, but I'm thinking of offering a good selection of Taylormade and Srixon balls which will be cheaper for them to buy and will offer me greater margins.

Does anyone know of pro shops doing something similar? It seems all my friends who have their own shops are slaves to stocking Titleist balls!

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

From a consumer's standpoint (which is the only opinion I can offer), I would say keep them if you are in the black with them. If there is ANY profit at all, however small, I would keep them.

Why? What does it say about a golf shop that doesn't stock one of the most popular golf balls on the market? My first questions would be, "What else aren't they stocking? Is the selection here that limited?"

I get that you have to purchase a larger quantity up front to get a discount from your vendor, and that the margin is small. But the customer doesn't see that. They just see that they came into your shop and couldn't buy Titleist golf balls.