2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

How did you get your young children into golf?

We have our first bun in the oven
As most of you here are....I am obsessed with golf.
My wife and I are expecting our first child soon (gender still unknown) and I want this kid to be in to golf so I have someone to golf with and get away with it, and someone to BS with everyday about equipment....

No, for real, I think that golf (and maybe music...I am a drummer) is the best thing that I have ever been involved in. Golf has helped me in my personal and professional life and I really see the extreme benefits of being a decent golfer.

Just curios, for those of you with kids....any success or failure stories about introducing young kids to golf?
Not that I am expecting to be Earl Woods...but I want to share this passion with my kid....how did you do it and how did it go?

Thanks for any advice you could throw a first time dad (golf related - of course).

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

just get them a plastic set that is accessible around the house, and YOU show an interest in golf. they want to be like dad... they will get into it. it may not stick over the long haul if it's not a game they really enjoy, but in most cases they will stick with it to some degree, or at least to play with dad once in a while if they dont get hooked.

my oldest daughter is 2.5 and that's what i've found. also, there's some fun kids videos that are made for little kids that have cartoon characters and such that make golf seem fun to them. if they get to the point where they want to do it, maybe a us kids golf putter for starters.

i wouldn't recommend being overly instructional for a while though. just let them have fun with it.

get ready bro... hearing good shot dad every time you putt the ball, whether you make it or not, doesn't get old one bit.

----------------
Golf Jobs
Driver: Titleist TS3 9.5 w/ Tensei Blue 55 S
3W: Titleist 915F 15 w/ Diamana D+ 80 S