2024 Houston Open WITB Photos ×

Theoretical maximum distance for 100 mph club head speed?

SteveL1

Are my expectations too high?
I have been testing drivers and shafts for the past three months and find that I seem to max out at around 275 total distance with a 100 mph swing speed. Is this all that one should expect to get at this speed? I've read where you want the launch angle around 12* and spin in the mid 2,000's which I've gotten close to.

So what is the theoretical maximum yardage one can expect from 100 mph swing speed and how do you go about figuring that? Guy at Golfsmith today said that with a little more tweaking I should see 300 yrds. Seriusly? I don't think so.

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

115 or so you might see 300.. I swing it up towards 110 and can count the number of times I've seen 300 on one hand.

Titleist TSi3 8* // TENSEI 1K Black 65s

Callaway Paradym Triple Diamond 15* // Kai'li 80x
Taylormade SLDR 17* Rescue // Speeder 9.3s
Taylormade SLDR 19* Rescue // Matrix Black Tie 95s
Srixon ZX5 4-PW // Nippon Modus 120s
50* & 56* Taylormade MG3 // Tour Issue S-200
Scotty Cameron Special Select Newport 2

Isn't the calculating factor somewhere arond 2.5? Like 100 mph = 250 yds?

DRIVER: Ping G20, 9.5° w/169D-Tour, reg (Back up: Srixon Z-rw, 9.5°, stf)
3+W: Srixon Z-Steel, 12.5°, stock SV3005J, stf. (In rotation: 3W, 14.5°)
5W: Srixon Z-Steel, 18.5° stock SV3005J, stf
IRONS: Ping i20, 3-PW, stock CFS reg @ D2
PUTTER: Ping Craz-E iWi, w/2x20gr weights, Lamkin Jumbo pistol grip
WEDGES: Ping Glide, 54° SS, 60° TS, stock Ping wedge shafts
BALL: Srixon XV 
CART: SunMountain V1, STEWARTGOLF Z1
BAG: SM H2N0, PING C-130
BACK UP: Ping S58, 3-Pw, stock CS-Lite, stf, @ D2. (Lofts jacked to S55 specs.)

[quote name='SteveL1' timestamp='1329027545' post='4265067']